Motherboard wont post with CD rom pluged in

canadian_divx

Canadian_divx
Joined
21 Jun 2002
Messages
1,554
i have a new motherboard to put in a friends computer nad it is a ECS L7VMM3 (actually a good board) but when the cd rom is pluged in it wont post. i hvae changed cambles and all but it still wont post. anyone run into this before or have any ideas???
 

Xie

- geek -
Joined
29 Sep 2003
Messages
5,274
Perhaps go into the bios and check the boot order?
 

canadian_divx

Canadian_divx
Joined
21 Jun 2002
Messages
1,554
LOL if i could go into teh bios, it does not post at all, no beep or anything no monitor/video card power up
 

Hipster Doofus

Good grief Charlie Brown
Joined
12 May 2002
Messages
5,920
Start checking your power supply.

I'm not going to ask this>>>>Is the cord plugged in? :D :D
 

canadian_divx

Canadian_divx
Joined
21 Jun 2002
Messages
1,554
LOL all cords are pluged in correctly, the PSU is good. also a good one too Thermaltake 420 for my test PSU,
ok it is a long shor but i am going to try it out of the case in case of a short on the board and case but that is a werid idea but it is all i can think of.
 

Admiral Michael

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
19 Feb 2003
Messages
3,123
Is the cdrom still good? It could be gone, which might explain why the motherboard wont do anything at all.
 

Xie

- geek -
Joined
29 Sep 2003
Messages
5,274
Do you have another cd-rom around? If so try that and if it boots then you have found the problem .. not sure why a cd-rom would stop a system from booting though unless it was set as the boot device. :confused:
 

Admiral Michael

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
19 Feb 2003
Messages
3,123
from what I understand, when the cdrom is plugged in the computer doesnt turn on at all. So I would do what Xie said: Try another cdrom.
 

Xie

- geek -
Joined
29 Sep 2003
Messages
5,274
Is this cd-rom being added to IDE channel 1 or 2? Perhaps you have a bad IDE channel? If it's on channel 2 is it the only item on that channel? Perhaps try another device like perhaps an extra HD or something you have laying around on the same IDE channel.
 

gonaads

Beware the G-Man
Political Access
Joined
31 Mar 2002
Messages
18,474
Now if ya got a HDD already plugged into the MoBo on da Primary IDE channel why don't ya just unplug the CD drive and see if it will post. then go into the BIOS and see if the boot sequence is correct.

Also I had a similar prob. but it was due to adding another HDD and I swapped out the CD drive with a faster one and connected it to the Secondary IDE channel as "master" (set jumper to "master") and stuck the second HDD on the primary as "slave" (jumper - "slave"). It would not find the CD drive nor let me into BIOS.

So I moved the second HDD to the Secondary IDE as "master" and the CD drive back to the Primary IDE as "slave" (reset the jumper to what they were now) then everything worked.

Don't really know if any of that is relavent or not.

They can be quirky as to their position sometimes. I don't know why.
 

toretto

Mentally Absent
Joined
8 Feb 2004
Messages
226
people, always check the obvious. make sure your jumpers are set correctly on the cd-rom. cable select generally works well, but i prefer to set each one individually.
burners to master, roms to slave. my own personal preference. but it works.
 

Kush

High On Life!
Joined
13 Jan 2002
Messages
4,590
toretto said:
people, always check the obvious. make sure your jumpers are set correctly on the cd-rom. cable select generally works well, but i prefer to set each one individually.
burners to master, roms to slave. my own personal preference. but it works.
same here
 

LordOfLA

Godlike!
Joined
2 Feb 2004
Messages
7,026
make sure the cdrom isnt touching the board in anyway. I had cdroms hold up systems by shorting out that way.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas!
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy?
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey EP! All good with me, applying for Microsoft MVP right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by coming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier!
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
EP, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there!

Forum statistics

Threads
61,997
Messages
673,404
Members
5,586
Latest member
PseudoKiller