I can't install Vista on my computer - It's only two years old !!

Johnny

.. Commodore ..
Political User
Joined
Jan 12, 2004
Messages
5,015
#1
I went to try and install Vista last night. I went through the compatibility and found that neither my video and sound will work, therefore making it impossible for me to install it.

I don't understand why it is like this? I looked for updates of the drivers and I have the current ones. Two year old PC, and I can't install vista .. Sheesh, looks like I will be buying a new pc ..
 

Johnny

.. Commodore ..
Political User
Joined
Jan 12, 2004
Messages
5,015
#3
It's a 2.8 Intel Pent 4 processor, 512 meg of sd ram, 40 gig hd, integrated sound and video.
 

Johnny

.. Commodore ..
Political User
Joined
Jan 12, 2004
Messages
5,015
#5
The compatibility tool told me that vista is not for my computer. It then had the issues of to why, at which point it told me to check M$ for update to the drivers. Well, I have the current ones. It didn't actually say it won't install, but, if the video is not going to work, how am I supposed to see what I am doing ???
 

NetRyder

Tech Junkie
Joined
Apr 19, 2002
Messages
13,256
#6
There's no reason why it shouldn't work. You'll almost certainly not be able to enable Aero Glass, but Vista itself shouldn't have any problem running on your system with the basic UI. You might also want to upgrade to 1GB of RAM for better performance - 512MB is the bare minimum for Vista, just like 256MB was for XP.

My suggestion would be to create a new empty partition so that you can dual-boot between XP and Vista initially. That way, you can install Vista without blowing away your current XP setup, and you'll be able to find out if you're going to run into any hardware/driver issues.
 

j79zlr

Glaanies script monkey
Political User
Joined
Feb 16, 2003
Messages
2,725
#8
There's no reason why it shouldn't work. You'll almost certainly not be able to enable Aero Glass, but Vista itself shouldn't have any problem running on your system with the basic UI. You might also want to upgrade to 1GB of RAM for better performance - 512MB is the bare minimum for Vista, just like 256MB was for XP.

My suggestion would be to create a new empty partition so that you can dual-boot between XP and Vista initially. That way, you can install Vista without blowing away your current XP setup, and you'll be able to find out if you're going to run into any hardware/driver issues.
I wont argue that 256 is realistically the minimum required for XP, but the actual minimum requirement is 64.
 

Johnny

.. Commodore ..
Political User
Joined
Jan 12, 2004
Messages
5,015
#10
Thanx for the info all, I will try it and see what happens. If it doesn't work, I can always come back to xp :)

I'll let you know how it goes ...
 

Khayman

I'm sorry Hal...
Political User
Joined
Jan 6, 2002
Messages
5,518
#11
it should run fine. i ran all the betas on a 1.6 athlon, had a bit more ram at 1gb, but it worked no problem.
 

trgilman

OSNN Newbie
Joined
Nov 17, 2006
Messages
2
#12
Before you go buy another computer, Vista should work on your current system, albeit not with the best performance. If it was me, I would up the RAM to 1 gig, install a video card, and perhaps even a sound card. If your into gaming, you should have all this anyway.
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2006
Messages
6
#13
I got almost the same config as you have
on laptop and desktop.
Installed it!
no problem at all!
but there will be some incompatibility with
the older softwares....
 

rushm001

In the beginning......
Political User
Joined
Sep 21, 2002
Messages
3,484
#14
I couldn't get beta 2 to run on an athlon 64 x2 with 2gb of Ram. Down to the graphics drivers being messed up. :s
 

Sazar

F@H - Is it in you?
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Apr 12, 2002
Messages
14,905
#15
Where is this compatability check thinger?

Sry, been out of the loop the last few weeks.
 

Johnny

.. Commodore ..
Political User
Joined
Jan 12, 2004
Messages
5,015
#16
Where is this compatability check thinger?

Sry, been out of the loop the last few weeks.
There is one built into the OS. You can also get more info below:
Code:
http://www.microsoft.com/technet/windowsvista/appcompat/tools.mspx#EPB
 

Kr0m

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
Dec 4, 2001
Messages
1,390
#19
Hmm, I ran the upgrade advisor, this what it says:
Your computer can run Windows Vista
There are no known system issues preventing you from upgrading to Windows Vista
Hardware check came out ok, few software issues detected: Nero, ATI Catalyst, TweakUI.

My Rig Info:
Motherboard: Asus P4P800S-X
Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.53GHz
Memory: 1024MB SDRAM
Hard Drive: WD 80 GB 8MB Buffer 7200RPM
Video Card: ATI RADEON 9700 PRO 128MB (AGP)
Monitor: Samsung SyncMaster 750s(T)/750Ms
Sound Card: SB Live! Value
Speakers/Headphones: Cambridge Soundworks 4+1 - Logitech Headset
Keyboard: Standard 104
Mouse: Logitech MX518
Operating System: Windows XP Service Pack 2
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...
Xie
What a long strange trip it's been. =)

Forum statistics

Threads
61,979
Messages
673,325
Members
89,020
Latest member
Amanda99