7900 GT Fried?

Bman

OSNN Veteran Original
Joined
Jul 1, 2002
Messages
8,796
Alright, when I installed Vista, I took out my second Nvidia 7900GT card and left it alone. My father took it cause he wanted a new card. I said sure why not, well it turns out that he didn't have the proper power cable for the card so he tried putting 2 different ones together, and when he did that the wires started to burn.
At the point I was like my card better be fine.

After abit I wanted to install my second card back in, cause with the new nvidia drivers and all. Looks like windows can't detect the card, i uninstalled, reinstalled blah blah all the drivers. I know that the card should show up even without the drivers. So is my card really fried? Is there a program to test a video card or something/???

I need help....
 

Sazar

F@H - Is it in you?
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Apr 12, 2002
Messages
14,905
You typically have to have the card plugged in because it derives a chunk of it's power from the pci-e slot.

I would perhaps try doing a barebones boot, with nothing but the proc and memory and video card plugged in and see if anything happens.

Based on the description, I have a feeling you probably have a fried card and it's not worth it to perhaps damage the rest of the components you have in your system by using a faulty card.

If still under warranty you can try rma'ing it. Or, get your dad to replace it for you with a lovely new g-80 based gpu :cool:
 

gonaads

Beware the G-Man
Political User
Joined
Mar 31, 2002
Messages
18,474
Why not swap out with the known good one that's in the box atm? If they are the exact same then if there is nothing wrong with card it should boot right up like nothing has changed.
 

Bman

OSNN Veteran Original
Joined
Jul 1, 2002
Messages
8,796
Well at the moment I have both installed into my system, connected properly and all. Only the one good one (the one I have been using) is detected.

I should try running windows with the other card only pluged in, not tryed as SLI?
 

LeeJend

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
Jan 25, 2003
Messages
5,291
Then when the card doesn't boot tell your dad he owes you an 8800 GTX since you can't find another 7900 GT to replace yours. Then you can let him have the other 7900 GT to use. Burning or smoking anything is pretty much the kiss of death.

Come to think of it, just tell him the card is fried and go for the 8800 GTX. ;)

PS How much other HW did dad fry in his system?

PPS Never put a part that has been subjected to that much abuse into a working system of any value. Collateral damage is likely.
 

Bman

OSNN Veteran Original
Joined
Jul 1, 2002
Messages
8,796
I'm not going to even try using the card by itself, if the card was alright it would be detected along side the other card.

Why would i get him to get a 8800 GTX? Isn't that a much more expensive card, plus i have a working 7900GT, just not 2 of them.

oh and his system seems to be fine, just the card and those wires were fried, how did nothing else get damaged, i don't know.

any one want a 7900 GT? lol
 

LeeJend

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
Jan 25, 2003
Messages
5,291
Why would i get him to get a 8800 GTX? Isn't that a much more expensive card, plus i have a working 7900GT, just not 2 of them.
Because he should feel really bad he trashed your SLI rig.

Yes, that's the whole point.

A grievous loss. Restitution should be made.

Glad to hear he got off light with his system. As for the 7900 GT if it didn't damage your system in SLI mode it should be ok to try stand alone.
 

Bman

OSNN Veteran Original
Joined
Jul 1, 2002
Messages
8,796
So today I had to remove my old soundcard underneath my videocard, so I decided to put the videocard in the slot my "dead" one was, and turned it on, and gave me the beep and black screen........

So that means there is something wrong with my motherboard, not my vidcard, but the funny thing is the store hasen't gotten back yet, and they said they check the cards themself before sending off....so I think both the motherboard and videocard has a problem. WOW im pissed.
 

LeeJend

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
Jan 25, 2003
Messages
5,291
DONT" PANIC!

The MB may be okay.

Doesn't a single sli card have to go in the first slot? Check, but I don't think a single card works if installed in the second card.

PS Never lend technology equipment to anyone over 30.
 

Bman

OSNN Veteran Original
Joined
Jul 1, 2002
Messages
8,796
I'm confused? What are you telling me to do? lol
 

ray_gillespie

Moderator
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Mar 21, 2002
Messages
1,693
Take the vid card out of the slot it was in and put it in the primary slot to see if works there. Apparently the second slot only works when there is also a card in the primary slot.
 

Bman

OSNN Veteran Original
Joined
Jul 1, 2002
Messages
8,796
Obivoulsy its not in that slot anymore, casue it dosent work there. Its in the slot it always has been in, which works. I know that..

But LeeJend sounded like it might not be broken? Is there a setting in the bios for SLI? maybe turn that off and it would work again?
 

ray_gillespie

Moderator
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Mar 21, 2002
Messages
1,693
I'm pretty sure that's all he meant. I'm sure he'll enlighten us soon!

I don't know of a way to 'turn off' SLi but you should be able to play with the lane settings at least, changing from a pair of x8s to one x16 with one x1. I don't think it'll do much for your problem though :(
 

LeeJend

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
Jan 25, 2003
Messages
5,291
Somewhere I think I saw something about with only one SLI card it had to be in the first slot. The second slot only works when there are 2 cards.

Doing a little more research...

MBs usually have an SLI function select that determines what and how the SLI lanes are allocated to for the various slots. This may be in bios now. Read the MB manual about setting up the SLI slots for various functions.

Also read through the SLI setup program options.
 

Bman

OSNN Veteran Original
Joined
Jul 1, 2002
Messages
8,796
I'll read the manual for the MB, but what you mean SLI setup program, what program?

WHERE THE HECK in the new Nviida control panel is disable or enable SLI, there new setup is crap, there is no options at all, except for stupid useless stuff.
 
Last edited:

ShepsCrook

Red Sox Fan!
Joined
Sep 15, 2003
Messages
1,489
Yes, when you only have 1 video card you MUST use the 1st PCI-E slot. If you run SLI or dual card mode, then you can have another one connected.
 

Bman

OSNN Veteran Original
Joined
Jul 1, 2002
Messages
8,796
Yes, when you only have 1 video card you MUST use the 1st PCI-E slot. If you run SLI or dual card mode, then you can have another one connected.
Yea we figured out that one, but I need to turn it off.

I need to figure that one out, and within the Nvidia Control panel I can't find that.
 

gonaads

Beware the G-Man
Political User
Joined
Mar 31, 2002
Messages
18,474
I'll read the manual for the MB, but what you mean SLI setup program, what program?

WHERE THE HECK in the new Nviida control panel is disable or enable SLI, there new setup is crap, there is no options at all, except for stupid useless stuff.
If I remember, open the Nvidia Control Panel and click "View" on the top tool bar and set it to "Advanced". You basically just click "Advanced" and that's it, you don't get a check mark by it or anything but all the extra icons are then shown. Now click on the "3D" icon on the main/home window and "Set SLI Configuration" should be listed under "Performance". Click on that. I am pretty sure it's in there.
 

American Zombie

Administrator
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Jun 23, 2004
Messages
2,953
If this is on Vista the drivers do not yet have all the options in the Nvidia control panel.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey ep!

All good with me, applying for microsoft mvp right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by comming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier, mine is perriscalderon at gmail
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...

Forum statistics

Threads
61,980
Messages
673,312
Members
89,034
Latest member
2mytru