Text file needs defined fixed width

zapoqx

Striking Master
Joined
1 Jun 2005
Messages
460
I'm making a text file that is supposed to be a guide. The problem is that I need it to have a fixed width and I don't mean "make use of Wordwrap in your text editor." As an Example:

I want to take this text and make it easily readable. This will be a long paragraph and I need it to be easily formatted. How do I do this? I do not know. This is just a provided example.

And turn it into something like this:

I want to take this text and make it easily readable. This will
be a long paragraph and I need it to be easily formatted.
How do I do this? I do not know. This is just a provided
example.

So is there an easier way to do this besides going back through all my current text and pushing Enter at an appropriate looking line?
 

Perris Calderon

dealer
Staff member
Political Access
Joined
24 Jan 2002
Messages
12,374
I don't think the text file is that sophisticated, I think you need to put it into a word processing program
 

Johnny

.. Commodore ..
Political Access
Joined
12 Jan 2004
Messages
5,015
Yeah, you can't do that with a text file editor. You have to use a rich text editor like word pad or office, or some other sort of office program ..
 

zapoqx

Striking Master
Joined
1 Jun 2005
Messages
460
Well I need it as text file which is why I couldn't go with the office unless it has a method to do what I need it.

I guess an example to show that is on one of the FAQs over here:
http://www.gamefaqs.com/xbox360/960512-halo-reach/faqs

As it stands, my document will not have word wrap when posted online.

P.S. No, Just used whatever was on the top 10 games link for the purpose of this sample.
 

zapoqx

Striking Master
Joined
1 Jun 2005
Messages
460
how so?
Clicking the first FAQ, on the top has a view/download original and goes to:
halo_reach_a.txt
I figured it is text. Not HTML.

I did discover a way to do it and although it was a painful method, it involved using CutePDF writer and GetDiz. Using Get Diz, I set the print preview to have margins and to keep word wrap on that so I make the margins closer together to where I want it. Then I use CutePDF printer to print the document with the margins. Finally I copied and pasted the texts that had the margin fix in. Only problem was it couldn't detect line spaces so I had to make sure that was entered correctly.
 

fitz

Woah.. I'm still here?
Political Access
Joined
26 Apr 2004
Messages
4,084
Why not build it in word with the margins set as you want it and save it as a plain text document with the "insert Line Breaks" option checked?
 

Perris Calderon

dealer
Staff member
Political Access
Joined
24 Jan 2002
Messages
12,374
Why not build it in word with the margins set as you want it and save it as a plain text document with the "insert Line Breaks" option checked?
nice

I was going to suggest composing in word but didn't think the breaks would paste, from your post I see there is an option for that

kewl
 

zapoqx

Striking Master
Joined
1 Jun 2005
Messages
460
wow. That would have made it easier. I didn't think about trying that feature and seeing if it works. I'll attempt to make a mental note of that and use that instead should I ever try and do that again... thanks!
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

hello peeps... is been some time since i last came here.
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas!
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy?
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey EP! All good with me, applying for Microsoft MVP right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by coming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier!

Forum statistics

Threads
61,999
Messages
673,426
Members
5,593
Latest member
moussa021