Swapfile question?

Beginning

I'm Beginning Somehow...
Joined
8 Jun 2002
Messages
1,262
Ok.... I have XP Pro installed and to date I always use a small partition @ the start of my slave drive for a set pagefile. about 3.5 gigs. I wonder if I dual boot Windows 7 and XP will I be able to use the same pagefile for Windows 7? Seeing as both Windows 7 and XP uses a pagefile, but they aren't running @ the same time?
 

Perris Calderon

dealer
Staff member
Political Access
Joined
24 Jan 2002
Messages
12,374
Ok.... I have XP Pro installed and to date I always use a small partition @ the start of my slave drive for a set pagefile. about 3.5 gigs. I wonder if I dual boot Windows 7 and XP will I be able to use the same pagefile for Windows 7? Seeing as both Windows 7 and XP uses a pagefile, but they aren't running @ the same time?
ys, you can use the same pagefile, if you want your dumps when it crashes leave a small pagefile on the system volume of each os as as well

for paging the system will use the least used pagefile, for dumps it will use the system pagefile
 
Last edited:

Beginning

I'm Beginning Somehow...
Joined
8 Jun 2002
Messages
1,262
Well thanks for the input perris... I posted this question on a few other boards and most everyone recommended me not to try it, it occurred to me that it may crash both XP & Windows 7. Not that reinstalling scares me it's just becoming a really job. :) So I didn't do it.. :) Call me chicken but that's the way it goes ... Cheers!!
 

Perris Calderon

dealer
Staff member
Political Access
Joined
24 Jan 2002
Messages
12,374
Well thanks for the input perris... I posted this question on a few other boards and most everyone recommended me not to try it, it occurred to me that it may crash both XP & Windows 7. Not that reinstalling scares me it's just becoming a really job. :) So I didn't do it.. :) Call me chicken but that's the way it goes ... Cheers!!
absolutely no problem using the same pagefile, there is nothing the os sees from previous boot when you reboot
 

ming

OSNN Advanced
Joined
17 Jun 2003
Messages
4,252
I have a question, would disabling the swapfile or fixing it to around 2gb be a good idea if you have 4gb or more of RAM?
 

LordOfLA

Godlike!
Joined
2 Feb 2004
Messages
7,026
disabling is a no-no. Setting a fixed size of 1.5x ram is usually sufficient.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest forum posts

Latest profile posts

Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas!
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy?
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey EP! All good with me, applying for Microsoft MVP right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by coming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier!
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
EP, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there!

Forum statistics

Threads
61,997
Messages
673,414
Members
5,591
Latest member
nodee