New install Beep

N

Not Bman

Guest
I went and moved my 2 500Gb drives down slots on sata, and added 2 1Tb drives, to install Vista and 7, but all i get is a constant sqeeling beep... What does that mean, everything i plugged in is correct?
 
N

Not Bman

Guest
As far as I know from the past, a constant beep is RAM, but this almost sounds like squeel, it actually hurts my head, and I checked my ram, all sitting correctly.
 

Johnny

.. Commodore ..
Political Access
Joined
12 Jan 2004
Messages
5,015
Why did you move the drives ? Move them back and see what it does ..
 
N

Not Bman

Guest
I removed all RAM, removed 2, removed all except 1.

I put the drives back to there original locations (at least SATA wise).

I am about to try single RAM but with the other pieces.


Still the same noise and issue...

EDIT, every peice of RAM by itself has been tried, CMOS battery removed, gfx card removed and reset, everything, same issue.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

kcnychief

??? ??? ?
Political Access
Joined
8 Apr 2005
Messages
16,950
If that's all you did, it's a bit weird. I assume the system was working fine before this change?

Did you tilt the case on the side when you made the move? Something else may have gotten loose.

Best way to find out is to remove your spare drive, unless you are running RAID of course, and start with core components and build off it. I think that's PSU, CPU, RAM (one module is fine), Video Card, HDD - I believe that's it. Try with just that and see if you can POST, if you can, add pieces back in one at a time. If not, reseat all those pieces and try again.
 
N

Not Bman

Guest
I thought I mentioned this in my last post but..

I removed all HD's and booted it up, removed all RAM and booted it up, basically removed and placed back in one by one, all with the same noise and issue still happening. It is very weird, cause it was working 100%, i move 2 drives and add 2 more and this happens? Makes no sense. I am trying to fiddle with the CPU right now, make sure it didnt somehow move. And I did tilt the case, but I have checked all wires, everything that should be plugged in is correct..hmm
 

Henyman

Secret Goat Fetish
Political Access
Joined
9 Jun 2002
Messages
9,606
u tried with just cpu in and hardrive/ram/cards removed?
if so then it would point towards the cpu as the culprit, maybee a temperature alarm? does cpu fan spin?
 

Admiral Michael

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
19 Feb 2003
Messages
3,123
Did you check to make sure a key isn't being held down? (Trying to cover all bases).
 
N

Not Bman

Guest
u tried with just cpu in and hardrive/ram/cards removed?
if so then it would point towards the cpu as the culprit, maybee a temperature alarm? does cpu fan spin?


I haven't tried everything removed at once, I will do that now.

So you mean remove videocard, ram and harddrives removed?
 

Henyman

Secret Goat Fetish
Political Access
Joined
9 Jun 2002
Messages
9,606
yeah i do, you should hope fully get a different beep.

if it still bleeps then my money would be on cpu/cpu fan problem. if it bleeps different then it will be something else,
 
N

Not Bman

Guest
With only the CPU in i get

BEEEEEEEEEEEEP pause BEEEEEEEEEEEEEP pause, and so forth....

Putting the RAM back in now, leaving GFX out.
 

Henyman

Secret Goat Fetish
Political Access
Joined
9 Jun 2002
Messages
9,606
good that means cpu + mb are fine. keep adding 1 @ a time untill it breaks again :D

the new beeps just means it has realised the cpu is fine, but now recognises the next item is missing.
 
N

Not Bman

Guest
Now when I added the RAM, I got a

Bebebebebep nothing noise, sounded almost like a normal boot beep (you know those quick ones right at the start) but a bit longer then that. But of course I see no screen cause Videocard is out. Putting the GFX back in now..
 

Henyman

Secret Goat Fetish
Political Access
Joined
9 Jun 2002
Messages
9,606
you have onboard graphics you can try as well if card dont work?

if i remember right you only need cpu/graphics/ram (depending on bios) to be able to get past the initial post + into bios.
 
N

Not Bman

Guest
So I plugged back in the Videocard, and got the original squeel beep. I was like WTF nOooooo, and then FINALLY thought, OH SH*T YOU DUMB * SH*T Monkey, I forgot to plug the power into the videocard...going to do that now, as well as added the rest of the harddrives. Will let ya know.

ps, my friend can't stop laughing at me.
 

Henyman

Secret Goat Fetish
Political Access
Joined
9 Jun 2002
Messages
9,606
Sounds like you found the culprit :D
9/10 with these things its quicker to do as you've just done + rip everything out, then add it back slowly in order to find the problem. only takes 5-10 mins to track problems down then.
 
N

Not Bman

Guest
Sounds like you found the culprit :D
9/10 with these things its quicker to do as you've just done + rip everything out, then add it back slowly in order to find the problem. only takes 5-10 mins to track problems down then.

Yea thanks, I know that, but I hate doing it lol. And turns out its my fault, man how could I forget that lol. My friends laughing on his butt, can't stop lol And I am too.
 
N

Not Bman

Guest
I haven't gone back down and tried everything (I feel ashamed lol, and about to get fresh air) but I think it will be fine. If not I will post back.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas!
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy?
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey EP! All good with me, applying for Microsoft MVP right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by coming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier!
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
EP, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there!

Forum statistics

Threads
61,997
Messages
673,411
Members
5,590
Latest member
AntonioPR