IE Tab Firefox Extension

Admiral Michael

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
19 Feb 2003
Messages
3,123
I came across this awesome Firefox extension. It uses the IE engine inside Firefox so you can browse (even update windows) with Firefox. It also has the ability to automatically use the IE engine when you visit a certain site (like Windows Update). It’s totally configurable and works like a charm.

Just thought I’d share it with you.

You need to map the button by right clicking on the toolbar and select Customize, then look for IE Tab and simply drag it to where you want it on your toolbar.

To add sites to the list, look at the bottom right corner of your screen, there is should either be the Firefox icon or the IE icon (shows the current engine). Right click on this icon and add your site. If you want, under General Settings you can check “Tools Menu Icon” to add an options entry under Firefox’s Tools menu.

Enjoy!


https://addons.mozilla.org/extensions/moreinfo.php?application=firefox&id=1419
 

fantasi

My Yngy is My HoneY!
Joined
24 Jan 2004
Messages
307
ya have been using this for quite sometime now. even more reason not to fireup ie i suppose. plus it helps with windows update :D
 

kcnychief

??? ??? ?
Political Access
Joined
8 Apr 2005
Messages
16,950
I actually read about this in the Spring 2006 special guide of Maximum PC, seems like a nice extension :)
 

Grandmaster

Electronica Addict
Political Access
Joined
3 Feb 2002
Messages
10,574
Been using it for months, wonderful extension :)
 

Kush

High On Life!
Joined
13 Jan 2002
Messages
4,590
what are the advantages over just opening it in ie? i mean its using ie's engine
 

Grandmaster

Electronica Addict
Political Access
Joined
3 Feb 2002
Messages
10,574
You don't have to open up IE. More of a convenience thing.
 

Johnny

.. Commodore ..
Political Access
Joined
12 Jan 2004
Messages
5,015
I been using this for a while now. I didn't know they updated it, thanx for the info ..
 

Admiral Michael

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
19 Feb 2003
Messages
3,123
Grandmaster said:
You don't have to open up IE. More of a convenience thing.

more or less. I hate having to switch to IE for certain sites, now its a click of a button, no copying URLs and it can be set to auto switch to IE on user defined sites.
 

Grandmaster

Electronica Addict
Political Access
Joined
3 Feb 2002
Messages
10,574
Admiral Michael said:
more or less. I hate having to switch to IE for certain sites, now its a click of a button, no copying URLs and it can be set to auto switch to IE on user defined sites.

Yep, this is why I use it.
 

bikemanAMD

OSNN Junior Addict
Joined
4 Aug 2004
Messages
49
I've tried this the time I used Firefox for a short while on here, but then I ended up going back to IE, I couldn't get used to firefox, plus browsing seemed slow to me, even though I have 1gb of ram, and AMD Sempron 2600+ 64bit Processor, yet it still seemed slow. I guess I'm gonna be sitting to Internet Explorer itself, unless someone can point out reasons to use Firefox.
 

bikemanAMD

OSNN Junior Addict
Joined
4 Aug 2004
Messages
49
Well I may give Firefox another shot possibly...I know the first time I tried it, didn't like it at all, but maybe I'll give it a longer try this time, 30 days before I possibly remove it or keep it in.


It's been a hectic few months with this PC, why I haven't posted in so long, prior to January-From August to December this PC was crashing constantly, rebooting, slow, turns out it was a boot sector virus, and a virus in cmos bios of old motherboard, and ram slots went, now I'm hoping this current motherboard, and CPU and bios doesn't have any problems ever.
 

Grandmaster

Electronica Addict
Political Access
Joined
3 Feb 2002
Messages
10,574
bikemanAMD said:
It's been a hectic few months with this PC, why I haven't posted in so long, prior to January-From August to December this PC was crashing constantly, rebooting, slow, turns out it was a boot sector virus, and a virus in cmos bios of old motherboard, and ram slots went, now I'm hoping this current motherboard, and CPU and bios doesn't have any problems ever.

Yikes. Well at least you're better off now :)
 

Admiral Michael

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
19 Feb 2003
Messages
3,123
I didnt like Firefox at first either but I was sick of spyware/adaware so I switched. It was for the best.
 

bikemanAMD

OSNN Junior Addict
Joined
4 Aug 2004
Messages
49
Well this time I"m gonna give Firefox a long try, and make sure PC stays running good that's for sure, I don't want the problems like I had before, couldn't even game, or do anything.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Also Hi EP and people. I found this place again while looking through a oooollllllldddd backup. I have filled over 10TB and was looking at my collection of antiques. Any bids on the 500Mhz Win 95 fix?
Any of the SP crew still out there?
Xie wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Impressed you have kept this alive this long EP! So many sites have come and gone. :(

Just did some crude math and I apparently joined almost 18yrs ago, how is that possible???
hello peeps... is been some time since i last came here.
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.

Forum statistics

Threads
62,013
Messages
673,484
Members
5,609
Latest member
aawemainu