Halo CE problems

Vanquished

Mr. Bananagrabber
Political User
Joined
Jan 12, 2006
Messages
4,869
Hi,
I have been having a lot of trouble with CE.
The game is installed.
Yet when I try to enter the game, either the HALO start up screen stays forever.
Or it goes to a black screen.
Does anybody know a fix to this?
I have Vista Ultimate.

Thanks,
Jack
 

fitz

Woah.. I'm still here?
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Apr 26, 2004
Messages
4,084
I'm assuming you mean the custom edition..

in which case, have you installed the vista patch for it? And is this the 32bit version of Vista?
 

Vanquished

Mr. Bananagrabber
Political User
Joined
Jan 12, 2006
Messages
4,869
I'm assuming you mean the custom edition..

in which case, have you installed the vista patch for it? And is this the 32bit version of Vista?
Tis the 32-bit, and yes it is the Custom Edition, and no i have not installed the patch.
Will do so now, thanks.
 

Vanquished

Mr. Bananagrabber
Political User
Joined
Jan 12, 2006
Messages
4,869
Still the same I assume.
Before i didnt have the sound on, now i do.
The sound all works, but the screen is still messed up.
Makes me feel like its something to do with resolution or something.
Any clues?

Note: This patch is ONLY FOR users running Halo CE on the beta releases of Windows Vista (formerly Windows code name "Longhorn").


that was on that download page.
Does it mean anything?>
 

Sazar

F@H - Is it in you?
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Apr 12, 2002
Messages
14,905
I wonder if fiddling around with Affinity will do anything.
 

fitz

Woah.. I'm still here?
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Apr 26, 2004
Messages
4,084
try starting it with the command line -novideo

It may just be a problem with the opening video montage sequence.. and I believe the "-novideo" switch skips that...

edit:
(or try setting your overclocked video card back down to the defaults..)
 

Vanquished

Mr. Bananagrabber
Political User
Joined
Jan 12, 2006
Messages
4,869
try starting it with the command line -novideo

It may just be a problem with the opening video montage sequence.. and I believe the "-novideo" switch skips that...

edit:
(or try setting your overclocked video card back down to the defaults..)
I cant...
lol
The card is factory overclocked :p
Im confused on the other advice though.
 

fitz

Woah.. I'm still here?
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Apr 26, 2004
Messages
4,084
you should have a shortcut that points somewhere to the halo.exe file (at least, I think it's still halo.exe, it's been a while).. but you can either modify that shortcut or create a new one that points to "C:\progra... \halo.exe -novideo"
 

jwebbxsjado

OSNN Newbie
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
2
Hi,
I have been having a lot of trouble with CE.
The game is installed.
Yet when I try to enter the game, either the HALO start up screen stays forever.
Or it goes to a black screen.
Does anybody know a fix to this?
I have Vista Ultimate.

Thanks,
Jack
i've tried responding to your question several times, i'm not sure if you've gotten them (no clue on how to work the forums :eek:)
I actually made my account to help you out and answer your question, i think i have the answer.
(i'm guessing you're having problems with Halo Custom Edition)

If you have an NVIDIA control panel, open it.
under '3D settings', click on 'adjust image settings with preview'
make sure that, under the preview window, the box is checked that says "let the 3D application decide"

had the SAME problem as you, and i've helped other people out with the same problem
this should work, :D good luck~
 

fitz

Woah.. I'm still here?
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Apr 26, 2004
Messages
4,084
hi jwebbxsjado, your first posts must be approved by a moderator.. thus the reason your other posts never made it.

This is an older thread, but as your post may still help vanq (not sure if he still needs it or not) I approved your post. Welcome to the forum :)
 

Sazar

F@H - Is it in you?
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Apr 12, 2002
Messages
14,905
I can just picture Vanquished sitting in front of his computer, twiddling his thumbs all these months, waiting for the Halo start-screen to come up :smoker:

I lol'd a little bit :)
 

lancer

There is no answer!
Political User
Joined
Oct 7, 2004
Messages
3,093
he is probably all emmaciated and stuff...
 

jwebbxsjado

OSNN Newbie
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
2
hi jwebbxsjado, your first posts must be approved by a moderator.. thus the reason your other posts never made it.

This is an older thread, but as your post may still help vanq (not sure if he still needs it or not) I approved your post. Welcome to the forum :)
thankz! actually i made an account for this forum to help him out, i've had this problem before... + i understand anyones obsession for halo :D
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey ep!

All good with me, applying for microsoft mvp right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by comming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier, mine is perriscalderon at gmail
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...

Forum statistics

Threads
61,975
Messages
673,270
Members
89,047
Latest member
hargadetocline