Does vista have a set activation limit?

thepunkerguy

OSNN Junior Addict
Joined
Mar 10, 2004
Messages
13
#1
I was wondering, out of curiosity. Does Vista have a set activation limit or has anyone had a problem activating it several times as long as you answer there questions 'correctly' when you call to activate it? I was wondering this because I do change my system a lot and reload it a lot being that i like to play with things and it would suck to activate it a few times and then them tell me i have to buy a new copy. I know with XP you could pretty much activate it as much as you wanted. Anyone have any real insight as to how this works with vista? Anyone hit their activation limit?
- Mike
 

rushm001

In the beginning......
Political User
Joined
Sep 21, 2002
Messages
3,484
#2
As long as the hardware doesn't change significantly you should be ok, as far as I'm aware anyway. Although if you have got an upgrade version you have to install over an existing operating system, no being able to just put the cd of an earlier version into the drive when asked during the installation.
 

thepunkerguy

OSNN Junior Addict
Joined
Mar 10, 2004
Messages
13
#4
Ok, thats still a round about answer. I was just wondering if anyone had run into a problem activating it too many times yet. And that post referred to the retail version, i am wondering if that same thing refers to the oem version or if it has an activation limit. Its hard to find an exact answer!
- Mike
 

muzikool

Act your wage.
Political User
Joined
Dec 27, 2001
Messages
7,626
#6
I second calling Microsoft. I doubt many people have had enough time to experience the need to reactivate, especially a number of times.
 

madmatt

Bow Down to the King
Political User
Joined
Apr 5, 2002
Messages
13,312
#7
All of my product keys are VLK. I've installed and reinstalled in my test environment dozens of times.

As for retail keys, if the hardware remains constant then you shouldn't have any problems. Nothing much has changed between XP and Vista as far as activation goes (the method is still the same).
 

fitz

Woah.. I'm still here?
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Apr 26, 2004
Messages
4,082
#8
OEM may have different restrictions. Generally, OEM licenses are tied to the machine you install it on and are not transferable. I don't know if there is a set number of times you can activate/reactivate it. Retail versions, as mentioned/linked to, can be transferred from machine to machine and, as such, probably do not have a set limit. Activate it too many times in a short span of time however, and I'm sure you'll set off a red flag somewhere.

Also, keep in mind, that you can legally extend the "grace period" to activate windows using the command "slmgr.vbs -rearm" will add another 30 days to the grace period before you are forced to activate. I believe you can run the -rearm command up to 4 times
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...
Xie
What a long strange trip it's been. =)

Forum statistics

Threads
61,992
Messages
673,382
Members
89,023
Latest member
ganster