windows ME + more ram

mooo

thecyberninja
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
886
#1
I am adding more ram to a windows ME machine of mine PC133 128 is in it now, and adding 133mhz x 128mb. I put it in and all my main windows parts crash (kernel and such) but when i take it out, it boots up fine. I have put both in single and both work. Any idea on what could cause windows to do this ?
 

mooo

thecyberninja
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
886
#3
yea, i tried them everywhere, i am thinking it might be something with norton internet security. I shouldn't have to change anything in bios should i?
 

Aussie983

ßµ®ηiή Şiliςδη
Joined
Mar 7, 2004
Messages
134
#4
does the bios recognize both as being plugged in when you turn it on? where exactly in the boot process does everything go haywire
 

mooo

thecyberninja
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
886
#5
yea it reconizes the ram, it loads windowsME, then goes to the desktop and is about to load the icons, and an error msg pop's up.

Msgsrv32 has caused an error in <unknown>
msgsrv32 will now close


Msxml.dll has caused an error in <unknown>
Msxml.dll will now close

Mdm has caused an error in <unknown>
Mdm will now close

Shlwapi.dll has caused an error in <unknown>
Shlwapi.dll will now close

after i close one then the other comes up, then once they are all done, it just stops on the desktop with no icons up.
 

j79zlr

Glaanies script monkey
Political User
Joined
Feb 16, 2003
Messages
2,725
#6
It sounds like the RAM you bought is bad, take it back.

WinME = buggy
Norton IS = buggy

WinME + NIS = Eminent crash

Drop NIS and get Sygate for a firewall.
 

loki

OSNN Junior Addict
Joined
Jan 18, 2004
Messages
19
#7
Well, bad news. WinME simply can't handle that much RAM if I remember correctly. I once read somewhere that the memory subsystem has severe problems if you go over a certain limit. But yes, it does sound like bad ram-hardware. I also recommend getting the ram changed. After that, do some testing and if you still have the same problems, either forget using so much ram or grab winxp. :) good luck nevertheless!

P.S. if nothing helps at your second test, boot windows in safe mode and see if the same symptoms still appear.
 

j79zlr

Glaanies script monkey
Political User
Joined
Feb 16, 2003
Messages
2,725
#8
WinME can handle up to 512MB of RAM with no problems, with more than 512MB you have to modify the VCACHE settings.
 

mooo

thecyberninja
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
886
#9
well i put one stick and boot, it works then the other in and it works, i am just going to format the box for him and put on a different OS, i told him that ME was crappy..
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2002
Messages
113
#10
j79zlr said:
WinME can handle up to 512MB of RAM with no problems, with more than 512MB you have to modify the VCACHE settings.
that might depend on each individual system. i went ahead and installed ME on here to see how it would go and everything is ok, it has 1gb pc133. i never messed with the setting you're mentioning. could you be more specific. i'd like to see if it is already at whatever setting you're mentioning.

thanks for any info
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey ep!

All good with me, applying for microsoft mvp right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by comming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier, mine is perriscalderon at gmail
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...

Forum statistics

Threads
62,035
Messages
673,561
Members
89,038
Latest member
msaad