Upgrading Memory

plypop71

OSNN Newbie
Joined
22 May 2007
Messages
2
I was trying to upgrade my computer from 1g of 3200ddr ram to 2g. I went to Newegg and purchased 1g of corsair memory in 2 512 sticks. I then installed them into my computer and booted up. My computer would see the memory but I was getting ALOT of stop errors and BSODs. So I tried every combination with the new memory and the old memory I had and nothing worked right. The only way I got my computer back to normal was to replace the old memory and take out the new. I checked out to see if the memory I bought was compatible with my mobo, which is a Asus P4c800 deluxe, and it was. Just wondering if I'm doing something wrong or did I just get a bad set of memory. I even tried replacing the new memory and putting it into the same slots as the memory I have now and that didn't work either.

Thanks for your help
 

ShepsCrook

Red Sox Fan!
Joined
15 Sep 2003
Messages
1,489
I would download Memtest86 and perform a memory scan, let it do 2 passes through your memory and if you get any errors, then your new memory is bad. You may have to do 1 stick at a time for this test to see which ones are bad.
 

Steevo

Spammer representing.
Political Access
Joined
1 Sep 2004
Messages
2,566
Or you could just have two different latentcy sticks.
 

LeeJend

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
25 Jan 2003
Messages
5,291
There was been a problem with some ASUS high performance MB's wanting the memory to have it's voltage pushed a little. If the memory voltage is adjustable try adding 0.05V (or 0.1V if that is the smallest step allowed) to the setting. Likewise you can manually retard the timings a little.

You really shouldn't have to do these steps but it seeoms to be getting more and more common.
 

Steevo

Spammer representing.
Political Access
Joined
1 Sep 2004
Messages
2,566
I have experianced that corsair value ram doesn't like extra voltage, and doesn't like other brands due to it's loose timings.
 

plypop71

OSNN Newbie
Joined
22 May 2007
Messages
2
Thanks for all of the suggestions, I'm going to try a few later on. But wouldn't it suggest that the memory is bad if I put just the new memory in and the same thing is happening. After I hit the internet I get an error message saying the interent explorer has experienced a problem and needs to close. And always after that happens it blue screens.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas!
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy?
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey EP! All good with me, applying for Microsoft MVP right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by coming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier!
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
EP, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there!

Forum statistics

Threads
61,997
Messages
673,411
Members
5,590
Latest member
AntonioPR