Sleep/ Suspend not availible (2K3/Home Server)

indyjones

OSNN.net Adventurer
Joined
5 Nov 2002
Messages
1,567
Hi There

Finally got my server up and running again (third time lucky I hope) after having two seagate drives fail on the trot.
I want the server to got to sleep (S3) when its not required i.e. of night and when I am at work, all this can be scheduled using a nice tool called lights out.

The problem is the server does not seem to have a sleep mode for example under the shut down options. I have had a look in the power management and from there I change the profile from 'always on' to balanced server mode, but that did not help. There is the option of enabling hibernation but I would prefer to put it into S3 mode.

The server is running windows home server which just has a front end (connector) stuck on windows 2003.
Any help will be much appreciated :)
 

LordOfLA

Godlike!
Joined
2 Feb 2004
Messages
7,026
suspend/sleep is dependant on bios options. However you do not want a server to sleep/suspend. Its a server not a laptop.
 

indyjones

OSNN.net Adventurer
Joined
5 Nov 2002
Messages
1,567
suspend/sleep is dependant on bios options. However you do not want a server to sleep/suspend. Its a server not a laptop.

All the bios options are right as far as i can tell, the same ones seem to work for other systems....

I understand about the server/laptop reply but i do not always need 24/7 access therefore at those time I would prefer the server to be in s3 mode therefore saving on the electricity bills. Don't forget this is a home server rather than a corporate one :) (or an Anime one ;))
 

LordOfLA

Godlike!
Joined
2 Feb 2004
Messages
7,026
the computer uses no less "mains power" in sleep mode than it does when full on. Supply from the wall is constant. There's little point in sleep mode on towers.
 

indyjones

OSNN.net Adventurer
Joined
5 Nov 2002
Messages
1,567
the computer uses no less "mains power" in sleep mode than it does when full on. Supply from the wall is constant. There's little point in sleep mode on towers.

Your right for the traditional power saving mode S1, however with the new S3 (or suspend to ram) things are different as basically power is cut to everything bar the ram, and supposedly it uses little more than the pc shut down :)
Nice article there ray :)
 

indyjones

OSNN.net Adventurer
Joined
5 Nov 2002
Messages
1,567
Fixed! :D

I had not installed a graphics driver where I was running it header-less now this was apparently the problem.
As is there is no win 2003 driver for a intel gma 3100, I installed the XP version in "compatibility mode" and now is goes to S3 sleep perfectly! Just need to work out how to use lights out, I am sure it will prove to be my most useful add-in
smile.gif


Cheers for your input everyone :)
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

hello peeps... is been some time since i last came here.
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas!
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy?
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey EP! All good with me, applying for Microsoft MVP right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by coming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier!

Forum statistics

Threads
62,001
Messages
673,428
Members
5,594
Latest member
RandomCritic