Ping Predefined IP's and return results in a Text file or message box.

Joined
11 Mar 2004
Messages
3,454
Ok i want to ping about 20 static ips (one or two at a time) and display if any did not respond or dropped a packet.. Any ideas? I was thinking about VB.net but i dont know how to do a ping in it and return a result that i can apply to logic?

Any ideas?

-Sean
 
Joined
11 Mar 2004
Messages
3,454
I will look at them, However Id like to write it myself for a learning experience and to present to my boss as something that I made. hehe
 

X-Istence

*
Political Access
Joined
5 Dec 2001
Messages
6,498
You will just create a bad re-implementation of something that has been perfected over the years. The wheel.

nmap is your toy.
 

Mooz

Moozically Con~foozed
Joined
16 Jul 2002
Messages
126
in its simplest form although i agree there are far too many products out there that do this .... (see the prtg website they have an uptime monitor).

ping hostname > logfile.txt

will save the results in a logfile for you to peruse ... you could then use logfile parser (microsoft) .... to read the results where there were errors only.

D
 

GoNz0

NTFS Stoner
Joined
4 Mar 2002
Messages
2,781
yep agree with all the above, plus it will reinforce the reason why the boss employed you when you reply with

"yeh thats an easy one, i will run a ping command and instruct it to save to a log file, then use the microsoft logfile parser to only show errors for the dead ip's, shouldn't take me more than an hour to setup a batch script to pull it off"

then spend 55 mins surfing where ever as you already set it up today :D
 

Shamus MacNoob

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political Access
Joined
8 Jan 2002
Messages
4,199
I have to aggree also , there is no point in trying to reinvent anything, unless you really know what you want ahead of time and can perfect something that is all ready there, I see some young hotshots trying to impress by repacking MS updates in a wrapper or Sun Java and some how trying to get credit for work done by others , they come off as just plain stupid .
 
Joined
11 Mar 2004
Messages
3,454
eh making a batch file using this command really has done everything i need

I just add every static ip we have in regards to switches and AP's

Code:
ping -n 1 192.168.1.100

pause

Doest exactly what i need (measures connectivity of the device)
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas!
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy?
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey EP! All good with me, applying for Microsoft MVP right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by coming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier!
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
EP, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there!

Forum statistics

Threads
61,997
Messages
673,411
Members
5,590
Latest member
AntonioPR