Need an xbox motherboard..or somebody who can solder well.

GEN3RIC

OSNN Senior Addict
So I inherited a messed up xbox. The motherboard got botched while trying to do a hack, and he pulled out some embedded wire in the PCB ( just one i think) and its not looking like I have the skills to fix that sort of thing. Its very very small and Im not a PRO at soldering but Im good enough to know how NOT to mess up a job.

I see you can purchase the mobo's online but they only come in hard drive combos.. Well I already have a hard drive. DO I need to use a matched pair? I also dont want to pay hardly anything as its not mine to begin with......

I hope you guys have some ideas for me.

You are much better off buying a motherboard with a matching hard drive, as getting a set that doesn't match will simply not be stable.

If you buy from www.xboxrepairguide.com, they will offer you $15-20 in return for your faulty parts, which lowers your cost a little bit.

Ick, sorry, I messed up a bit. I guess they got hammered on the requests, and aren't taking any new ones in atm...

Sell Your Parts
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif
Until further notice we will not be accepting any system sales. If you have already sent in your system/parts then they will be processed however if your package is postmarked after 10/05/2005 it will be sent back.

This is the problem. I cant fix this crap.. I could but I have no precision tools. You can see at the bottom there is an embedded wire that is pulled. The board looks almost worthless due to what looks like heat destroying the top layer of the PCB....

56526666.xboxmobo.jpg

Yeah, that is definitely heat damage. That board must be replaced, you really have no other options. Even if you get creative with hacking or soldering, who knows what the long run effects will be.

wwwdjrcs said: