Keeps asking for mapped drive password?

Heeter

Overclocked Like A Mother
Joined
8 Jul 2002
Messages
2,732
Hey all,

I am trying to find out why vista machine keeps asking for my mapped drive password. This is the server user/pass everytime I reboot the vista machine.

This is the only vista machine in my network.

Anyway around this?


Thanks,

Heeter
 

Heeter

Overclocked Like A Mother
Joined
8 Jul 2002
Messages
2,732
I understand.

I can't get this vista machine to download faster than 18Kbs, when a XP machine right beside on same router is downloading @ 257Kbs the same file (Openoffice 2.3 from their server)

I think that I will be upgrading to XP if I have to write logon scripts for Vista.

Oh well. I thought that I finally could introduce a vista machine into this network.


Heeter
 

Heeter

Overclocked Like A Mother
Joined
8 Jul 2002
Messages
2,732
Hahaha,

I just thought of something,

MS just came out with a Home Server thingy last week or so. I find it funny that they want the home user to have a central server for their files, but no vista machines can hook up to it.

LOL, leave it to MS to screw this up anymore than it has to.


Heeter
 

Electronic Punk

willalwaysbewithyou
Staff member
Political Access
Joined
2 Dec 2001
Messages
18,680
Thats a weird one, but I haven't mapped any drives in Vista yet :s
Have you check the local security policy? Some of its settings are more tied down than XP, I know I had to change some to allow one of my other systems to even works with the shares on my main rig.
 

Dark Atheist

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political Access
Joined
8 Apr 2003
Messages
6,376
are the passwords the same on both pcs ? if not it will ask for the user/pass everytime after a reboot
 

Heeter

Overclocked Like A Mother
Joined
8 Jul 2002
Messages
2,732
Thanks for your responses, guys.

Carpo, None of the workstations have the same password. None share the same password as the Server. Only the Vista machine asks for passwords on reboot.

EP, I have tried all the settings that I could find. I have also tried the different network settings. Upon reboot it will keep asking for the mapped drive password.

Heeter
 

Dark Atheist

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political Access
Joined
8 Apr 2003
Messages
6,376
if they dont have a pass set (blank) you will have to change a setting in gpedit.msc to allow blank passwords (simular to what ep said), or add the users to the allowed users who can see/access the shares.

if its something other than that i guess im miss understanding the situation :)
 

Steevo

Spammer representing.
Political Access
Joined
1 Sep 2004
Messages
2,566
Or you can setup each user in user rights assignment, for all purposes I find that this is faster and easier for access. Plus it limites access.





Unless you have loads of users.
 

j79zlr

Glaanies script monkey
Political Access
Joined
16 Feb 2003
Messages
2,725
I understand.

I can't get this vista machine to download faster than 18Kbs, when a XP machine right beside on same router is downloading @ 257Kbs the same file (Openoffice 2.3 from their server)

I think that I will be upgrading to XP if I have to write logon scripts for Vista.

Oh well. I thought that I finally could introduce a vista machine into this network.


Heeter

You wouldn't happen to be playing some mp3's on that Vista machine would you?

As far as asking for passwords, http://www.j79zlr.com/howto.php?id=14 Its the same for Vista.
 

Heeter

Overclocked Like A Mother
Joined
8 Jul 2002
Messages
2,732
Hi J,

The vista machine is a fresh machine/install. No proggies installed yet. I am just trying out some downloads to see the comparison. No music was being played on the vista machine while downloading tests were being conducted.

Thanks for the site link, haven't been to your site in a while.


Heeter
 

LeMMiNGS

OSNN Newbie
Joined
11 Nov 2007
Messages
3
Hi, I was having the same issue as you, and I was using Vista Ultimate 64bits,

I got it to work by doing this:

1 - Reboot the computer
2 - After you log it will say your mapped drive couldn't be connected and stuff.... ok
3 - Go into Control Pannel, User Accounts, Network Passwords, and add the \\server\share, with the username & password you want
4 - Open My Computer, and access your mapped drive
5 - Reboot the computer

After this, all the time windows boots up it shall reconnect without that f*cking message again :D

Notice: Its important to do the steps as described because if you only add the server password into the Network Passwords but you don't use it, windows will not store it and will not remember the password the next time you boot.


Enjoy!! :D

---
Forgot to add, the share I was trying to use is on my Slackware Server, it has username & password. My vista logon is the same username, but has no password... *maybe* this helps by vista being dumb and trying to log without password.

I'm glad finally I got a workaround for it to work fine as it should have always been.

Now I still gotta figure out why DreamScene always start saying it found an error (internet explorer was closed incorrectly) even as there never been an error :/ (Always restarted/shutdown the computer fine).

----
Oh yea, and just before I forget, *maybe* you will have to do some NTLM trick on Administrative Tools/Local Policy/Local Policy/Security Options/Network Security: LAN Manager Auth Level -> Send LM & NTLM answers.

I tried that solution that i found on google.. and did not try to disable..

(Att: The names may be a bit wrong coz I'm trying to guess what the english name would be, I'm using Brazilian Portuguese version of vista... ;))


Good luck,

and regards from Brazil! :D
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Heeter

Overclocked Like A Mother
Joined
8 Jul 2002
Messages
2,732
Sorry Lemmings,

I didn't get to read your post before what I have done.

Thanks j79zlr, as well, your site gave me a great idea.

I removed the Vista machine, and installed Ubuntu 7.10 on anther machine to replace the vista one. Wow, I really like this thing. Hooked up to my server with no problems, all hardware was accounted for. Even remotes desktops the server right out of the box. Go figure. Doesn't even ask for passwords cause it remembered them all the first time.

It also easily imported my Thunderbird accounts/settings, my Firefox settings/bookmarks, and it already has OpenOffice already (been using OO for a while now).


This crazy desktop that I installed (Beryl) is just soo beautiful.
Beryl, a php script editor (Aptana), and a media player (Rhythmbox) are the extra packages that I needed. Will be dropping virtualbox in later.

I am not saying this Ubuntu is better than vista, I am just saying that this is a great setup for myself.

Thanks all,

Heeter
 
Last edited:

j79zlr

Glaanies script monkey
Political Access
Joined
16 Feb 2003
Messages
2,725
Beryl should be compiz-fusion now. Not sure how Ubuntu handles it, but beryl was a fork of compiz, now the changes have been merged back into what is now compiz-fusion. It has really come a long way and is really stable enough to use as a desktop. The effects are really nice.
 

Heeter

Overclocked Like A Mother
Joined
8 Jul 2002
Messages
2,732
That is exactly the everyone at the ubuntu forums is using, compiz-fusion. I enabled it through the package installer.

Thanks J,


Heeter
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas!
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy?
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey EP! All good with me, applying for Microsoft MVP right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by coming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier!
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
EP, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there!

Forum statistics

Threads
61,997
Messages
673,411
Members
5,591
Latest member
nodee