issues with norton ghost 2003

Joined
Mar 11, 2004
Messages
3,454
Ok im using norton ghost 2003 using the copy my hardrive (adavanced) option. I have my computer hooked up to Comp A Hardrive with a external drive bay and Blank HArdrive B hookd up to a external hardrive.

It keeps failing out saying that it cant complete copying A==>B

Im up in windows when im doing this transfer.

any ideas?
 

celticfan11

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
Jan 20, 2003
Messages
744
is it failing becuase it cant read sectors on the one harddrive? I have seen it fail when it cant fully read one harddrive because of bad sectors. Does it give you any error message besides it cant complete.
 

kcnychief

█▄█ ▀█▄ █
Political User
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,948
I believe there is a switch you can use, and I think it is -FRO, which will force to copy and skip bad blocks if applicable. I can verify later but I dont' have the documents infront of me.
 

celticfan11

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
Jan 20, 2003
Messages
744
I believe there is a switch you can use, and I think it is -FRO, which will force to copy and skip bad blocks if applicable. I can verify later but I dont' have the documents infront of me.

I believe there is 3 switches in total that you need to check to make sure it copys even with errors. I could be wrong, this is from memory.
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2004
Messages
3,454
ok question the drive a im copying ios the c: primary drive for a machine when i copy it using this method it should provide a cloned bootable drive right?
 

celticfan11

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
Jan 20, 2003
Messages
744
yes however i think you need to boot into ghost and not go through via windows. I did it once thru windows and the registry got messed on teh closed drive because of a drive letter conflict. When i plugged it in USB windows gave it a D drive. Ghost cloned it as C. So somethings got screwed. I always boot into ghost and do a disk to disk. IMO that is the way to go.
 

kcnychief

█▄█ ▀█▄ █
Political User
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,948
I would disagree but I guess I can't entirely say that since I haven't done it :D

Disk to Disk is still Disk to Disk - being that they are both external drives and neither physical device is locked, it should still produce a bootable disc in theory. Try it and see what happens, but I don't see any problems coming of it.

Also, I could be wrong about the -FRO, as I said it was from memory :lick:
 

American Zombie

Administrator
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Jun 23, 2004
Messages
2,953
The Ghost 2003 disk is bootable and I don't even install the program on Windows as there is no real need to. You can access all the tools on the CD by just booting from it.

Boot from the Ghost 2003 CD and when you get to the A: prompt type in:

C:\support\ghost
 

kcnychief

█▄█ ▀█▄ █
Political User
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,948
I would assume he did it all from Windows and had the drives external for a multi-tasking type benefit.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey ep!

All good with me, applying for microsoft mvp right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by comming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier, mine is perriscalderon at gmail
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...

Forum statistics

Threads
61,974
Messages
673,294
Members
89,045
Latest member
jensonekerrys