How To Access My PC Thru FTP

percy

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
Jan 15, 2004
Messages
416
Hi. I am trying to setup my notebook to be accessed from work thru FTP. I had installed serv-u and I have belkin f5d7230-4. I can't find where I need to "add service" where I can an a "port" like a netgear router setup where it has an 'add service and port" menu.
Thanks.
 

American Zombie

Administrator
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Jun 23, 2004
Messages
2,953
Don't you have to pay for Serv-u?

Could have gotten Filezilla server for free.

Try Portforward for resolving your issue.
 
Last edited:

ShepsCrook

Red Sox Fan!
Joined
Sep 15, 2003
Messages
1,490
How helpful was your post in resolving his situation?

Anyway, you will probably have luck by looking through your routers administrative control panel. More than likely it is under the label of "Port Forwarding" or "Port Range Forwarding" or even "Applications and Gaming." Although the last one is more commonly used with Linksys Routers, it might be used with others. Looking into your manual for the router can help you though.

Once you have found this section, usually you will need to allow Port 21 through your router, and direct it towards your computer that is acting as an FTP Server via it's IP address. Usually there will be a spot to enter the name of what the port is opened for, a range of what the FTP port is, which 99.9% of the time, it's Port 21, and an option to enable your settings.
 

percy

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
Jan 15, 2004
Messages
416
HI. I got it figured out but I have not tested it yet from an outside PC not in my network thou. I had added the "FTP Server with port 21" under Firewall/Virtual Servers. Under this menu there are a lot of pre-installed options. I still have to test it. I will post the result if it worked. Thank you for the suggestions.
 

Attachments

American Zombie

Administrator
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Jun 23, 2004
Messages
2,953
Make sure the IP address of the PC you are forwarding is correct and it would be best to make it static.

I think you have the forward setup right but to make sure you may want to look at whichever one of these is for your router.

F5D7230-4

F5D7230-4v7.01
 

ShepsCrook

Red Sox Fan!
Joined
Sep 15, 2003
Messages
1,490
I hope you're giving people your external IP address and not the internal one. :)
 

percy

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
Jan 15, 2004
Messages
416
Yes. I did give the correct outside IP address. And I just recently assigned the pc it's own static IP address. Before I was using a DHCP but it was 192.168.2.4 anyways.
Thanks.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey ep!

All good with me, applying for microsoft mvp right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by comming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier, mine is perriscalderon at gmail
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...

Forum statistics

Threads
61,993
Messages
673,362
Members
89,035
Latest member
adreinrich