CD/DVD Drive help

tufunuf

OSNN Junior Addict
Joined
Feb 1, 2007
Messages
21
My computer has a DVD/CD and CD drive. I recently bought a LightScribe drive. I placed it in the cd slot. Hooked up the IDEE to it. It was the second connector on the strip and is marked "slave." The master goes to the DVD drive. When I closed it up and booted the machine, there was no drive showing at all? I opened it back up and reinstalled the CD drive (on the slave connection as before.) I changed out the original DVD and replaced it with the LightScribe DVD. Every thing worked perfect! But, if I could figure out how to do it, I would like to have the other DVD/CD drive in the computer, rather than the CD drive that I tried to take out at first and had to reinstall. Reason being, is that the LightScribe drive burns my slideshows soooo slow that it is a real hassle. But, if I had the other DVD in the machine also, I could burn my show with it in half the time, and then use the LightScribe for labelling the disk. I hope this makes sense and someone can tell me what I can do in order for it to work properly.

Tufunuf
 

LeeJend

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
Jan 25, 2003
Messages
5,291
Two possibilities-
1) You probably just need to set the jumpers on the lightscribe for slave.
2) I saw something somewhere about lightscribe and some older dvd drives wanting to be master or they would not show up. Or sometimes older DVDs would not co-exist with another dvd drive. 1) is more likely though.

Plan B is you can use the CS setting on all drives if you are sure you have a CS type cable (CS cables have the ID wires swapped betwen the two connectors).
 

tufunuf

OSNN Junior Addict
Joined
Feb 1, 2007
Messages
21
The IDEE strap has the master on the end. It originally went to the DVD/CD (top) drive. The slave was on the same strap about 6 inches from the end. It originally hooked to the CD drive. I have the LightScribe in the top where the old DVD drive was and the Master connection is hooked to it. The slave is hooked back to the original CD drive as before. If I take out the CD drive and install the other (original) DVD/CD drive as I am wanting to do, how do I go about having it show up on the computer as a valid drive?
 

falconguard

Carbon based lifeform
Political User
Joined
Feb 11, 2004
Messages
3,406
you have to look at the jumper on the drive itself, look at the picture I posted. If this is not set to slave than it won't see it. you have to move the jumper physically on the drive.
 

Attachments

Last edited:

tufunuf

OSNN Junior Addict
Joined
Feb 1, 2007
Messages
21
I should have asked. How do you set the jumper on the DVD drive to slave? On the rear of the drive there is a six pin (3 on top and 3 on bottom) recessed horizontal connector. It points to the first two pins as "cable select" The have a green plastic sort of device covering them. The next two pins say "slave." The last two pins say "master." What do I do?
 

tufunuf

OSNN Junior Addict
Joined
Feb 1, 2007
Messages
21
Sorry I can't see the picture weell enough. Do you mean move the green plastic strip I mentioned to slave?
 

falconguard

Carbon based lifeform
Political User
Joined
Feb 11, 2004
Messages
3,406
Yes, a pair of needlenose pliers can pull it off, you can move it by hand after that.
 

tufunuf

OSNN Junior Addict
Joined
Feb 1, 2007
Messages
21
WoW! Fantastic! It works just like you all said it would. What a great help!
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey ep!

All good with me, applying for microsoft mvp right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by comming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier, mine is perriscalderon at gmail
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...

Forum statistics

Threads
61,974
Messages
673,294
Members
89,042
Latest member
Pancake