Biostar GEFORCE 6100 AM2 motherboard and a AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+

biscuitfeeder

OSNN Newbie
Joined
1 Mar 2008
Messages
3
I have the Biostar GEFORCE 6100 AM2 motherboard and i want to purchase a AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ CPU to put in it but before i go and spend my hard earned money i just wanted to see if anyone on here can tell me if there would be any kind of compatibility issues? I have also seen that you can over-clock it quite a bit and was also wondering if anybody had any suggestions as far as CPU fans that should go on this monster CPU?

Any help is much appreciated :classic:

Thanks
 

biscuitfeeder

OSNN Newbie
Joined
1 Mar 2008
Messages
3
I checked and this appears to be the motherboard that is in my system: GEFORCE 6100-M9 SOCKET 939 Does this mean i have to use a 939 chip-set processor "only"?
 

Erbmaster

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
5 Mar 2003
Messages
1,195
I checked and this appears to be the motherboard that is in my system: GEFORCE 6100-M9 SOCKET 939 Does this mean i have to use a 939 chip-set processor "only"?

The 939 doesn't refer to a chipset.
It means you simply have to use a processor with 939 pins to fit the 939 holes on the CPU socket :)

Looks like you're stuck with 4800+ as the maximum.
I did try to find a BIOS update to increase this ceiling limit, but couldn't.
You may have more luck though having more pertinent information to hand when you look.
I hit a wall when presented with the following.

http://www.biostar-usa.com/cpusupport939.asp#GEFORCE%206100-M9

[FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif][/FONT]
 

biscuitfeeder

OSNN Newbie
Joined
1 Mar 2008
Messages
3
So should just an AM 2 Processor work with this motherboard? I am thinking like this: AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800 AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ 2.4ghZ(2400Mhz) Dual Core Socket AM2 L2 Cache:512KB x2 CMOS
 

Heeter

Overclocked Like A Mother
Joined
8 Jul 2002
Messages
2,732
All AM2 CPU's are 940 pin count.

If you are using a 939 pin count CPU, you won't be able to use a 940 pin CPU


Heeter
 

Taurus

hardware monkey
Joined
8 May 2002
Messages
3,206
I checked and this appears to be the motherboard that is in my system: GEFORCE 6100-M9 SOCKET 939 Does this mean i have to use a 939 chip-set processor "only"?
make SURE you know which motherboard you have before buying a processor. a good way to do this is to look on the motherboard itself for a model printed in large print right on the board. like "GeForce6100-M7" for instance. or download CPU-Z from www.cpuid.com and run it. it will tell you under the Mainboard tab.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas!
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy?
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey EP! All good with me, applying for Microsoft MVP right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by coming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier!
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
EP, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there!

Forum statistics

Threads
61,997
Messages
673,411
Members
5,590
Latest member
AntonioPR