battlefield 2 question

epk

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political User
Joined
Oct 22, 2006
Messages
1,240
the other day my bro decided to start playing bf2 (which i've been playing for months) but when he tried to enter a game he got an "invalid cdkey message"

i think it has to do with xp accounts (i installed/play it @ mine, he tried with his)... you guys think if i re-install the game from his account it would work from both?

also if anyone knows a way to fix this without re installing the game it would be super helpful... 3cds+expansion+500mb patch takes a really long time


thx in advance
 

LeeJend

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
Jan 25, 2003
Messages
5,291
I played BF2 for over a year. I do not think BF2 allows multiple users from one account with online play. An account is tied to a CD key. I have graduated to BF2142 and that does allow multiple user accounts, just not simultaneously.

CD key acceptance should be fine for one account on any machine. But it has to be the account you already set up for your CD key under gamespy.

Also, there was a bug with BF2 setting up a new account. I think you had to go play a game offline before the new account is recognized.

I do remember account setup and name selection was pure hell when my gaming clan started playing. Buggy and annoying. Check the FAQ's on some of the BF2 sites they may still have the trick to getting the game registered.
 

Dublex

Quazatron R6 droid
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
Messages
624
I seem to remember that the invalid CD-key was due to some sort of server issue with an earlier patch - if you update the game version it may behave better, although if you are still having the problems I would follow the advice of Leejend and check the FAQs
 

epk

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political User
Joined
Oct 22, 2006
Messages
1,240
no, see, the two of us have each it's own bf2 account... and we're not trying to play at the same time or anything
that's why it's so weird...


oh, and i already have the lastest patch
 

Shamus MacNoob

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political User
Joined
Jan 8, 2002
Messages
4,199
Your trying to install the game twice on the same machine? There is no need to do that , just use 2 different internet names , I run one online account my son another on the same machine , of course there is no way to play at the same time on the same machine, but we have 2 copies of the game and the boys also have their account on their machine, so that way we can play from two machines here at the same time.

So there is no reason to install the game twice on one machine...
 

epk

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political User
Joined
Oct 22, 2006
Messages
1,240
i'm using 2 different names...

just to be sure, you all play on the same win xp account or each on it's own?
 

epk

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political User
Joined
Oct 22, 2006
Messages
1,240
ah... that must be it then... i think bf2 only enables the cdkey for the xp account you installed the game in

thanks all
 

IDLE

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
Feb 13, 2004
Messages
375
correct it will only use the same account for to be installed. you will notice that bf2 has a folder in My docs specifically fro your windows profile. this has all of your config files and my have your encrypted cdkey in here as well.
 

epk

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political User
Joined
Oct 22, 2006
Messages
1,240
yes... thank you all... i found the solution...

the cd comes with a reg program to enter the cdkey, i did that in my bro's account and now it works (doesn't seem to work with sf though, but is something)
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey ep!

All good with me, applying for microsoft mvp right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by comming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier, mine is perriscalderon at gmail
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...

Forum statistics

Threads
61,974
Messages
673,294
Members
89,045
Latest member
shijiblaze