1280x1024 not working

Taurus

hardware monkey
Joined
8 May 2002
Messages
3,206
this computer has geforce 6150 onboard graphics. never had any problems when i used to have a 19" CRT on this computer and ran a resolution of 1024x768 or 1152x864. i recently got a hand-me-down 19" LCD for it and every time i switch to the native 1280x1024 i get a black screen with a 1-pixel thick blue line across the very top and pressing ESC doesn't revert back to the old resolution. but the computer seems to be functioning still because the harddrive light does show activity. weird. but if i reset it at that point, it will boot into windows at 1280x1024 just fine. but if i go into standby and wake it up, i get the same black screen/blue line.

at first i thought it was a problem with the monitor so i lugged the old CRT back out and it showed the same thing! has anyone ever heard of this? i uninstalled the video driver and reinstalled with no change. any other resolution, including 1280x960 that i'm using right now, works fine.
 

Dark Atheist

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political Access
Joined
8 Apr 2003
Messages
6,376
sounds like you are trying to force a refresh rate that the card cant do
 

Petros

Thief IV
Joined
19 May 2003
Messages
3,038
sounds like you are trying to force a refresh rate that the card cant do

Seconding this. When I replaced a CRT with an LCD, I realized that it was still set to an 85Hz refresh rate which I incorporated through a registry hack and didn't display anything.
 

LeeJend

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
25 Jan 2003
Messages
5,291
There should be no selectable "refresh rate" if the computer is hooked to a plug and play LCD monitor. The newer top end LCD monitors may have a higher refresh rate (latest LCD TVs do) but since this is a hand me down it is most likely the old speed.

1) Make sure you have uninstalled the old monitor under device mangler.
2) Make sure the LCD is recognized and it's drivers are installed.

The higher the resolution the more VIDEO RAM required. If it is onboard video make sure the "available shared RAM" for the video card has not been limited in bios settings or by the MB design.

I don't recall any limitations on the 6150. My laptop onboard 6150 is running at 1280x800 native. If you have a laptop try plugging the new monitor into it to see how it responds.
 

Taurus

hardware monkey
Joined
8 May 2002
Messages
3,206
i forgot to mention i tried the actual Samsung driver, windows "plug and play monitor" driver, and even windows 1280x1024 LCD monitor driver which only allows 60hz. also, while i had the CRT plugged in the second time, i even did 1600x1200 which worked fine, so it can't be a hardware limitation. i have it set to 64mb shared, which should be more than plenty.

it's really odd. :\
 

LordOfLA

Godlike!
Joined
2 Feb 2004
Messages
7,026
boot in vga mode. then increase resolutions one at a time. It's possible the timing is out a fraction :)
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas!
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy?
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey EP! All good with me, applying for Microsoft MVP right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by coming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier!
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
EP, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there!

Forum statistics

Threads
61,997
Messages
673,411
Members
5,590
Latest member
AntonioPR