Windows Vista RC1 Build 5600-16384 Released

Discussion in 'Windows Desktop Systems' started by Electronic Punk, Sep 1, 2006.

  1. Electronic Punk

    Electronic Punk Administrator Staff Member Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    18,590
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    X86
    CRC: 0xB3519FCA
    SHA: 0xE00B4EBBC81FB420CF047973B95A9CFB7CDF51B7
    vista_5600.16384.060829-2230_x86fre_client-LR1CFRE_EN_DVD.iso, 2,584.25 MB

    X64
    CRC: 0x59C867D0
    SHA: 0x8E4DE7A72C828A3543FF1663243EB0836DA07EEA
    vista_5600.16384.060829-2230_x64fre_client-LR1CxFRE_EN_DVD.iso, 3,677.22 MB

    Currently only on Windows Connect for Technical testers.
    Start your downloaders!
     
  2. kcnychief

    kcnychief █▄█ ▀█▄ █ Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    16,948
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Downloading now :)

    -edit-

    Woo - 800+ kb/s :D
     
  3. napalmnthemorning

    napalmnthemorning Moderator

    Messages:
    721
    Location:
    OREGON
    Just heard the news. Very exciting.
     
  4. GEN3RIC

    GEN3RIC Moderator Folding Team

    Messages:
    634
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN
    Just finished Pre-RC1 last night...rofl. I suck at life
     
  5. GEN3RIC

    GEN3RIC Moderator Folding Team

    Messages:
    634
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN
    Limited to 80kb/s.... what gives, guys?

    SpeedTest confirms:
    Your download speed : 5932 kbps or 741.5 KB/sec.
    Your upload speed : 355 kbps or 44.4 KB/sec.
     
  6. Mecham

    Mecham Vista bug finder

    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    UK
    Don't download via the US because it looks like the whole of the United States are downloading Windows Vista RC1 at the moment because it the download said it would take 5hrs to download. :laugh:

    Download via Europe it's faster. 32mins left to complete.:lick:

    1238.4 KB/sec speed... Although I do have a 10MB connection which makes a difference.

    26mins left and counting, another disk to burn.
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2006
  7. GEN3RIC

    GEN3RIC Moderator Folding Team

    Messages:
    634
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN
    Brilliant I am getting 800kb/s on the Europe server, 200kb/s on Asia. Ill stick with Europe. :)

    Im so excited! :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 2, 2006
  8. Mecham

    Mecham Vista bug finder

    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    UK
    Yeah I was really impressed with the changes they have made.

    15mins left... I'm wetting myself with antisipation (not really I just wanted to say that) :nervous:

    Looks like it's going to be another late night again, and the misses will not be happy...? Yeah whatever...
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2006
  9. GEN3RIC

    GEN3RIC Moderator Folding Team

    Messages:
    634
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN
    [​IMG]


    Anybody able to get that Open Letter from Jim Allchin? link doesnt work for me...
     
  10. madmatt

    madmatt Bow Down to the King Political User

    Messages:
    13,312
    Location:
    New York
    Has anyone had any luck getting the new Windows Mobile Center to open? I connect my WM5 device, it says it connects but the Center never opens up. I go to the Control Panel and try to launch it from there and I get nothing.
     
  11. GEN3RIC

    GEN3RIC Moderator Folding Team

    Messages:
    634
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN
    Just now installing it. I burned a copy to DVD and apparently the burn was bad because it couldnt copy all files over.. so I am installing over the network via a shared virtual drive. Quicker than I imagined.
     
  12. madmatt

    madmatt Bow Down to the King Political User

    Messages:
    13,312
    Location:
    New York
    My installation on a P4 3.0, 1GB RAM, 80GB HDD was very quick. I did away with the Windows XP/Virtual PC setup.
     
  13. GEN3RIC

    GEN3RIC Moderator Folding Team

    Messages:
    634
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN
    installed. configuring and setting up drivers.. ill see if i can test your issue in post 11
     
  14. andy_rose

    andy_rose Moderator

    Messages:
    1,237
    good news..gonna get this baby..!
     
  15. GEN3RIC

    GEN3RIC Moderator Folding Team

    Messages:
    634
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN
    I like it. :) Feels like a complete OS, very usable on a daily basis.
     
  16. Mecham

    Mecham Vista bug finder

    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    UK
    Works dam fine for me...
     
  17. Mecham

    Mecham Vista bug finder

    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    UK
    I had the same problem I now have three disks with Pre-RC1 and one RC1 :smoker: never mind, I have never managed to use a complete box of DVD's without making a complete mess of one or two of them. :yowch:

    SPEEP.... NEED SLEEP... :sleeping: :sleeping: :sleeping: :sleeping:
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2006
  18. madmatt

    madmatt Bow Down to the King Political User

    Messages:
    13,312
    Location:
    New York
    No clue what I am doing wrong. My device syncs fine on XP/ActiveSync but I can't even open up the WM Device Center on Vista. When I double click the option in Control Panel it brings up the connection settings (and says the device is connected). But it won't open up or allow me to sync.
     
  19. Lack

    Lack OSNN Junior Addict

    Messages:
    32
    Can you try if MS Virtual PC 2004 works on it? Or maybe VMWare?
     
  20. kcnychief

    kcnychief █▄█ ▀█▄ █ Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    16,948
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Fix it - and when you do then I will upgrade to Vista :)