windows or hardware error please help

Discussion in 'Windows Desktop Systems' started by DEREK_DM, Dec 17, 2002.

1. DEREK_DM

DEREK_DM Guest

Hi Guys

I have been running windows xp pro for about 11 months now without any problems in that time i have done a coulpe of clean installs without a problem.

I have now bought a new hard drive a Western Digital 40 gig se,The problem i now have is after twice reinstalling windows i receive the following message .

Ikernel.exe application error

The instruction at "0v771c741a" referanced memory at "0x001633a8" The memory could not be "read"

What i need to know is this a windows problem with sp1 or some of the latest updates all of which i installed.This is the first time i have clean installed and added the sp1 without the other software being installed although i was using sp1 with my last installation and never had the problem.

Or is this a memory problem ( I have ran mem doc to check and all was ok)

Or could this be a problem with the new hard drive!!!!.

If anyone has seen this error or has any suggestions please let me know before i start taking things to bit one by one to find the problem or have to install windows again!!!!.

Cheers

2. rettahc

rettahc Guest

Hi, Welcome to the NTFS.org forum.

Okay I did a little searching and Ikernel.exe is part of install shield. First I would try these fixes:
    Clean out your Temp directory,C:\Documents and Settings\(your user name)\Local Settings\Temp
    Delete the Program Files\Common Files\InstallShield\engine folder

if neither of those work, heres a link Install Shield's knowledgebase
    http://support.installshield.com/kb...=both&sa=content&days=0&submit.x=0&submit.y=0

3. dave holbon

dave holbon Moderator

Install Shield Engine

This is usually a software related error, or device drive problem, or can be caused by a partial (or old) version of the .NET service being installed.