Which Processor to Upgrade to?

wingman411

OSNN Senior Addict
I currently have a 1600+ and 1GB of Simple Tech PC2700 Ram. My other specs are listed below.
I am not experienced with overclocking so keep that in mind. I am going to use my 1600 + in another machine.

80173-R
AMD Athlon XP 2600+ 2.08GHz 333FSB Processor Retail ***(Free 2nd Day)***
w/Fan and Heatsink, 3 Years Manufacturer Warranty $99.50

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
80171-R
AMD Athlon XP 2400+ 2.0GHz Processor Retail ***(Free 2nd Day)***
w/Fan and Heatsink, 3 Years Manufacturer Warranty $84.00

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

80170-R
AMD Athlon XP 2500+ 1.83GHz 333FSB Processor Retail ***(Free 2nd Day)***
w/Fan and Heatsink, 3 Years Manufacturer Warranty
$89.00

thread moved from applications to other hardware...

-edit-

btw get the 2500+... it oc's nicely.. often times to 3000+ levels out of the box with stock cooling (might need to adjust the voltage a little)

:)

Originally posted by wingman411
to do that is there a tutorial or video i can use to o/c the 2500?

not sure.. but if you ever need any help we can certainly help you out..

the overclocking is basically in the bios.. and IF you buy a new motherboard.. the bios information will be right there for you to work with... explaining what section allows you to do what...

the cpu frequency section of the bios is where you can play around with the multipliers and/or the front side bus setting... to achieve higher clocks...

depending on the OC... you may well have to change your voltage as well... :)

its no prob though... we can help you through it step by step if you really wish to oc :)

I always wanted to know how to change the voltage:confused:
ready for voltage training 101 :D

Check
www.tomshardware.com and overclockersclub
search for overclocking + athlon