which Linux distro

Discussion in 'Linux & BSD' started by CHiLLaXen, Jan 10, 2004.

1. CHiLLaXen

CHiLLaXen hypnotika

ok, I had my hard drive RMAed few days ago cause it died. I'm thinking about installing 2 OSes. Win XP and a linux distro. Last time I tried installing linux, someone said to try out Debian. Well it was hard work installing it and getting to run propery. Is there a easier distro to work with? I'm new to linux and Debian was kinda hard to install.

2. Xie

Xie - geek - Subscribed User Folding Team

easy eh? ... I would say main three "easy" distro's would be redhat, suse, mandrake.

3. punkandacoke

punkandacoke eat me

Slackware!

4. SPeedY_B

SPeedY_B I may actually be insane.

Debian is easy o_0

But if you want something that can be set-up easily, then Mandrake or RedHat are the way to go. The only way to find out is to try them yourself though, as everyone has a different opinion on which is the best or easiest.

Mandrake: http://www.mandrakelinux.com/
    RedHat: http://redhat.com

There is Fedora too, but it's fairly new, and I can't vouch for it's ease, yet some people are liking it a lot it seems: http://fedora.redhat.com/

5. Geffy

Geffy Moderator Folding Team

I just got Fedora CDs with a Linux Format mag which I might try out, but I have never been a fan of RH so I might be a bit bias

6. Yharn

Yharn meh.

i currently use gentoo on my other machine. although it is one of the harder ones to install i find it easier to use....but maybe thats just me.

7. Geffy

If you want the best then get FreeBSD though ;)

8. SPeedY_B

The best pain in the **** to set-up ?

9. Vector

Vector Virtual Stud

I used Fedora a while back. It's basically identical to Redhat, but it was a little too buggy at the time. The Fedora Core 1 may have fixed some (or most) of that.

10. Geffy

its easy you just have to know what you are doing :p

11. Bman

Bman OSNN Veteran Original

I'll have to say Redhat, but thats the only one I have tryed.

12. SPeedY_B