Vista and ATI

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by LordOfLA, Apr 27, 2007.

  1. LordOfLA

    LordOfLA Godlike!

    Messages:
    7,027
    Location:
    Maidenhead, Berkshire, UK
    Just reinstalled Vista now that I got that ATI card. Just got blown away again heh :D

    The difference over the 7800GTX is night and day.
     
  2. ray_gillespie

    ray_gillespie Moderator Staff Member Political User

    Messages:
    1,692
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Which ATi card was that Lord?
     
  3. Luna

    Luna OSNN Senior Addict Folding Team

    Messages:
    303
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Were you having any problems with the 7800? I don't have any on my 7800GT (in Vista).
     
  4. LordOfLA

    LordOfLA Godlike!

    Messages:
    7,027
    Location:
    Maidenhead, Berkshire, UK
    X1950XTX. I wasn't having problems per se, just felt like I was dragging the windows over sticky tar compared to how smooth it responds with ati.
     
  5. Sazar

    Sazar F@H - Is it in you? Staff Member Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    14,905
    Location:
    Between Austin and Tampa
    Yah, and I love that CCC now instantly opens :)

    Although I use ATi traytools. Much more convenient.
     
  6. madmatt

    madmatt Bow Down to the King Political User

    Messages:
    13,312
    Location:
    New York
    I think 7.4 is causing hiccups with my system. There is a strange delay when logging into or locking/unlocking the computer. This started happening right after I installed 7.4.
     
  7. j79zlr

    j79zlr Glaanies script monkey Political User

    Messages:
    2,725
    Location:
    Chicago
    Nothings more fulfilling than spending $400 on a video card just to run an OS, yay!
     
  8. LordOfLA

    LordOfLA Godlike!

    Messages:
    7,027
    Location:
    Maidenhead, Berkshire, UK
    I actually spent it to play several games but I had also wanted an ATI for the better vista support too so heh :p
     
  9. Sazar

    Sazar F@H - Is it in you? Staff Member Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    14,905
    Location:
    Between Austin and Tampa
    You can also help save the world from diseases :cool:
     
  10. Shamus MacNoob

    Shamus MacNoob Moderator Political User

    Messages:
    4,199
    Location:
    L'Ile Perrot Quebec
    The only difference is the XTX is all together a faster card , its not because it is ATI or Nvidia , your not using the same grade of card , thats why it seems faster , makes perfect sense , show me where the 2 cards are = and then we will say well it is ATI that was the difference not the speed of the card.

    example here
    http://www23.tomshardware.com/graphics_2007.html?modelx=33&model1=714&model2=723&chart=297

    http://www23.tomshardware.com/graphics_2007.html?modelx=33&model1=714&model2=723&chart=302

    http://www23.tomshardware.com/graphics_2007.html?modelx=33&model1=714&model2=723&chart=318
     
  11. LordOfLA

    LordOfLA Godlike!

    Messages:
    7,027
    Location:
    Maidenhead, Berkshire, UK
    That shouldn't make any difference in 2D operations though surely?

    My new ATI is clocked at 500/1000 in 2D mode and 650/2000 in 3d mode according to the CCC
     
  12. Shamus MacNoob

    Shamus MacNoob Moderator Political User

    Messages:
    4,199
    Location:
    L'Ile Perrot Quebec
    The desktop in Vista is not 2d its all 3d :0)
     
  13. LordOfLA

    LordOfLA Godlike!

    Messages:
    7,027
    Location:
    Maidenhead, Berkshire, UK
    good point... would probably explain alot then :D
     
  14. Sazar

    Sazar F@H - Is it in you? Staff Member Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    14,905
    Location:
    Between Austin and Tampa
    Kermit, maybe Lord is running his Vista w/o Aero :cool:

    I keed, I keed :D

    Lord, what differences in speed are you talking about m8?
     
  15. LordOfLA

    LordOfLA Godlike!

    Messages:
    7,027
    Location:
    Maidenhead, Berkshire, UK
    In terms of Vista UI, with my 7800GTX there would be some lag between clicking and dragging and the UI responding. When windows are moving it would "feel" like I was dragging paper of adhesive tape or pulling a sheet out from between two books.

    With the ATI it's click, drag, stop as I click, drag and stop moving the mouse. It's somewhat hard to describe as it wasn't exctl sluggish or unresponsive with the nvidia card. It just wasn't as responsive as XP's interface was. With the ATI card it is.

    It is much improved but I can't put my finger on anything specific.

    Whether its down to physically faster hardware, better drivers or something else. Vista is much improved with the ATI card over the nvidia card.
     
  16. Steevo

    Steevo Spammer representing. Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    2,566
    The card stays in 2D mode (low clock settings) untill a call is made on specific D3D DX components.


    I couple old games I had wouldn't trip the 2D-3D change.



    Plus my X1800XTPE doesn't trip over.