Ut2003

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by Tabula Rasa, Sep 2, 2002.

  1. Tabula Rasa

    Tabula Rasa Stranger Than Kindness Political User

    Messages:
    3,233
    Location:
    Israel
    I play the game on my pentium 4, 1.5ghz with 256rdram and a g-force 2 ,32mb and it is really SLOW, even after I set the resolution to 600/480 and turned all the eye-candy of it runs slow.
    if your thinking about buying it in October make shure you have the best display adapder (g-force 3 64mb minimum)!!!

    The old Unreal is better!!!:(
     
  2. Tabula Rasa

    Tabula Rasa Stranger Than Kindness Political User

    Messages:
    3,233
    Location:
    Israel
    I got to get a new g-force (life Sux!!!).
     
  3. Octopus

    Octopus Moderator

    Messages:
    1,200
    the game will run ok on Geforce2 MX 400/64MB
    your 3d sucks!
     
  4. Octopus

    Octopus Moderator

    Messages:
    1,200
    system requirements:
    Operating System: WIN 98/ME/2000/XP
    CPU: Pentium III or AMD Athlon 733MHz processor (*Pentium® or AMD 1.0 GHz or greater RECOMMENDED)
    Memory: 128 MB RAM (256 MB RAM or greater RECOMMENDED)
    Hard Disk Space: 3 GB
    CD ROM or CD/DVD ROM: 8X
    Audio System: Windows® compatible sound card (*Sound Blaster® Audigy(tm) series sound card RECOMMENDED) (NVIDIA® nForce™ or other motherboards/soundcards containing the Dolby® Digital Interactive Content Encoder required for Dolby Digital audio. Also RECOMMENDED)
    Video System: 3D Accelerator card with 16 MB VRAM (*32-128 MB VRAM RECOMMENDED) 16 MB TNT2-class DirectX® version 6 compliant video card. (*NVIDIA GeForce 2/ATI Radeon RECOMMENDED) DirectX® version 8.1 (Included on game disc)
    Multiplayer: Internet (TCP/IP) and LAN (TCP/IP) play supported. *Internet play requires a 33.6 Kbps or faster modem
     
  5. radmonc

    radmonc Guest

    when is UT2003 due out in October?
     
  6. SPeedY_B

    SPeedY_B I may actually be insane.

    Messages:
    15,800
    Location:
    Midlands, England
    Athlon 1GHz
    384mb PC133
    32mb GeForce 2 mx (AGP)
    2 Distinctly slow 5400rpm HD's

    UT2003 Runs fine here, 1024x768 @ 16-bit
    and I can run the original UT in 1600x1200 on this box with no problems...
     
  7. fedele

    fedele Guest

    man I am still downloading it....anyway I read somewhere how to change bios settings and speed up your card, you may want to find more info but now my pc rocks, do this:

    1. from your bios, disablevga palette snoop, video dac snoop and video bios shadowing.

    2. agp master 1 ws write and read: enable. change agp mode to 4x or even 8x if supported. And the best increase will come when you ENABLE AGP fast write control IF YOUR VIDEO CARD SUPPORTS IT.

    My friend you will be in debt with me forever for this , I tested the tweaks with Jedi knight Outcast and it is FAST!!.

    Good luck and yes buy a Geforce 4.
     
  8. fedele

    fedele Guest

    Sorry, I forgot this :)

    1. Set the Video memory cache mode to UCWC
    2. set AGP aperture size to 1/4 of your total system RAM. I set my 512 ram system to 128 mb.

    they recommend that you actually make each tweak at a time to prevent problems but I did them all together and found nothing but a great increase in performance

    :)
     
  9. Sazar

    Sazar F@H - Is it in you? Staff Member Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    14,905
    Location:
    Between Austin and Tampa
    lol yes... that is true for all video cards... I think that has been posted in many previos posts but new users will find those bios settings useful..

    I am running it max eye candy @ 1280x1024 no probs and normally run @ 1024X768 to get smoothest game play... none of the maps have given me any glitches so far..

    I am going to wait and see if/when I get the 2700+ if that will make a difference at all to my game play experience...

    also... in a couple of months... my 8500 is going to be up for sale... :)

    if anyone is interested let me know at the time...
     
  10. dabomb

    dabomb Moderator

    Messages:
    564
    cool i play ut2003 at 1600x1200 with all eye candy on without one single glitch!!!
     
  11. Daedalus

    Daedalus Guest

    first impressions: not that excited about it, for some reason, the demo was better (screwed up or what??-lol):rolleyes:

    I couldnt set my resolution above 800x600 in the video menu, it kept crashing to my desktop, i could only fix it, by changing windows' resolution to what I wanted, set it in the game, then put windows back to it's original setting.:(

    At the moment, it seems to be a Quake3 clone without all the nasty brown/orange textures. I'll keep playing it, and I hope I'll like it, I've been waiting for ages for this game, and I want to like it.
     
  12. Electronic Punk

    Electronic Punk Administrator Staff Member Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    18,590
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Running it at 1024x768 all max settings... maybe alittle sluggish in some areas but completely playable.
     
  13. xsivforce

    xsivforce Prodigal Son Folding Team

    Messages:
    8,547
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    Running at the same as [e]-Punk. Looks good now. Will look better next week with new vid card. :D
     
  14. Mubbers

    Mubbers Shoot! Political User

    Messages:
    1,087
    I'm running it on a GF4 4600 w/ everything on at 1600x1200 - no problem. Processor's 1.8 GHz and I've 512Mb ram.

    Gamewise it's excellent so much fun and after the everso slightly boring MOHAA it's a breath of fresh air. I just like divign right back into the action again and again!

    :D

    Mubbers