Running 2 cd devices on the same ide cable?

Discussion in 'Windows Desktop Systems' started by psx2000, Sep 30, 2002.

  1. psx2000

    psx2000 Guest

    Hey this might sound like a dumb but odd question but can i run 2 cd devices on the same IDE cord?

    Like right now Primary Cable im running 2 HD.

    On my secondary im running a TDK 48x burner. Now say i buy a DVD burner can i run both on the secondary cable ?


    If not is there a way to run 2 cdrom drives?

    I have tried this before on a older system i had and the system would hang when i attempt to boot it. So i was curious if i was doing something wrong.
     
  2. stuy_b

    stuy_b Guest

    Yes you can, its same principle as for harddrives, one will be master the other slave.
     
  3. surge

    surge OSNN Senior Addict

    Messages:
    382
    yeah you can have them on the same IDE channel jsut make sure that one is set to master and the other one is set to slave. :)
     
  4. SPeedY_B

    SPeedY_B I may actually be insane.

    Messages:
    15,800
    Location:
    Midlands, England
    I've got my CD-RW and DVD drive running off the same IDE, so pretty sure it works :)
     
  5. john30uk

    john30uk Guest

    ide share

    Yes leave your hdd alone on primary channel and put new dvd as MASTER on secondary channel with your writer or cd-rom as slave,because you new dvd has faster tranfer rate then you writer for amount of data dvd has compared to cd so you will have to replace the 40 core ide cable with a 80 core one same as your hdd uses to get max performance.
    you will end up with udma mode4 on dvd (66mbps)and udma mode 2 (33mbps) tranfer rates if you motherboard and all are new enought to support this on secondary channel some are not.
    Your hdd is prob using 80 core cable and either ata 100 (udma mose 5 "100mbps") or newer ata 133 (udma 6 "133mbps").
     
  6. Zedric

    Zedric NTFS Guru Folding Team

    Messages:
    4,006
    Location:
    Sweden
    I hate to dissappoint you there john30uk, but that's not entirely true. If the CD is just UDMA2 it will "drag down" the DVD to UDMA2 as well. You can't run different speeds on the same cable. So changing to a 80 cable won't do any difference.
     
  7. Sazar

    Sazar F@H - Is it in you? Staff Member Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    14,905
    Location:
    Between Austin and Tampa
    atapi devices are generally udma 2 so it don't matter either way mates... if one is faster than the other it will revert back to slower speeds... generally is dragged down like super BRAIN zedric says :)

    but yeah do like they all say... put master/slave jumper settings on the two devices... plug em in and yer set to go...
     
  8. psx2000

    psx2000 Guest

    Ok just tried it and it didnt work.

    The device hang on boot up or only give me the slave device wich is my tdk 16x ide burner.

    I have my Pioneer Ao-4 set as master and tdk as slave and it will hang on boot up or wont let me run both.


    Is there any clue to what i might do to resolve this problem?
     
  9. [CpK]Bastid

    [CpK]Bastid Guest

    make sure master drive is on last ide connector
    slave drive on middle connector

    check your ide cables too ..might be all junk.......mine was but didnt realize it till after hours of frustration and almost a reformat
     
  10. psx2000

    psx2000 Guest

    yea i did that i bought brand new cables.

    I have had this problem with ever single computer setup i have ever had i just dont get why i cant run 2 burners on the same IDE cable.
     
  11. Zedric

    Zedric NTFS Guru Folding Team

    Messages:
    4,006
    Location:
    Sweden
    It really should work. But I know I've sometimes had strange IDE problems on some computers, so I'm not saying you're doing it wrong. Is there another way you can connect them just so it works even if it's not optimal?
     
  12. adek

    adek Very xp-erianced

    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    Here
    strange idea, but does the bios reconise them as cd drives if you do a hdd auto detect???
     
  13. psx2000

    psx2000 Guest

    ok wierd i got them to both work i had to set my CD burner to Cable Select on the back and my DVD burner to Master.

    Funny thing i used my Pioneer Ao4 to burn a cdr at its max 8x and it took 20 minutes for some odd reason...


    I know 8x for full cds are supposed to be 10 minutes. I dont understand why it took longer.

    Now i burnt the same image iwht my tdk 24x burner and it did the same image in 3 min as a cable select drive so everything is running good for that.


    1. Now im curious is there any drawback to have these 2 drives on the same ide channel?

    2. Am i better off buying a ulta pci card so i can run my other burner on it so the 2 dont share the same ide channel?

    3. anything i can do to improve the performance?
     
  14. adek

    adek Very xp-erianced

    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    Here
    only drawback is that 'on the fly' coping is not recommend for one ide cable.:(