Raid help

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by pctweak, Mar 3, 2005.

1. pctweak

pctweak OSNN Junior Addict

I am somewhat new to raid 5. I am thinking of purchasing a PowerEdge 1800 with raid 5. If I only have 3 hard drives I will have disck stripping with parity? So if one drive fails I can swap out with a new drive? Will windows 2000 still be running if this happens. Should I get 4 drives? I guess any info you could tell me would be great.

TOTAL $1152.00

Module PowerEdge 1800

Intel® Xeon™ processor at 2.8GHz/1MB Cache, 800MHz FSB

FREE QUADRUPLE UPGRADE to 2GB DDR2 400MHz 2 Single Ranked DIMMs

Primary Controller FREE! CERC 6-Channel SATA RAID Controller

Onboard NIC

Hard Drive Configuration
    Add-in SATA card RAID 5, Minimum 3 drives required

3Yr BRONZE Support, Next Business Day Onsite

Hard Drive's

3 - 40GB 7200 RPM SATA Hard Drive

2. trainmaster77

trainmaster77 Moderator Political User Folding Team

how often have you heard of drives failing? it doesnt happen often enough to worry about it. i would get 4 drives and raid0 them. as a matter of fact ..for as long as i can remember ive never had a drive go bad... just get a good power backup from apc and youre straight.

those 40 gb 7200 rpm sata drives arent enough money to justify wasting one drive just for backup ... raid all 4 of them.

3. pctweak

[font=&quot]
    True, but I need more then a tape backup for what the server is being used for. I will sacrifice some speed for redundancy and insurance we do not loose data.[/font]

4. trainmaster77

trainmaster77 Moderator Political User Folding Team

how much are those drives? id buy 2 more haha raid0 4 of them and use the fifth for the backup. i think you can do it that way. I dunno, ive never used that many hard drives haha.

5. LordOfLA

LordOfLA Godlike!

for raid 5 to work you need 1 drive as parity and one drive to mirror the other