Problem with svchost.exe

Discussion in 'Windows Desktop Systems' started by bobsalot, Oct 21, 2006.

  1. bobsalot

    bobsalot Boooooooooooooooooooom

    Messages:
    1,584
    Location:
    Broadstairs, UK
    Ok..this has happened twice now in the past few days. I notice that my pc fan is working very hard...lots of noise. So i open up task manager and see that svchost.exe is taking up 100% CPU. This has now happened twice.

    I have googled it and svchost.exe seems to be harmless.

    But i need your expert opinion to see what i can do.

    Thanks.

    edit: also..many cases of svchost.exe are running.....but only one taking up the cpu.
     
  2. Johnny

    Johnny .. Commodore .. Political User

    Messages:
    5,015
    Location:
    Happy Valley
    I been getting this a lot as well. It is driving me crazy. I thought it was a trojan or something, or maybe a program I installed. I went threw and uninstalled a lot of things and it still did it. So I have no idea what it is ..
     
  3. jpom

    jpom OSNN Addict

    Messages:
    166
    I've found that this can be caused by Windows Automatic Update, once you have installed all current updates it usually stops. Might want to take a look into that.
     
  4. Doom

    Doom OSNN Senior Addict

    Messages:
    266
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    I had the same problem. Right enough it is down to automatic updates but with office 2003 not windows itself. Try uninstalling office 2003 and see what happens. That's what I had to do and it seemed to fix it. I'm now using open office until microsoft fix this.
     
  5. bobsalot

    bobsalot Boooooooooooooooooooom

    Messages:
    1,584
    Location:
    Broadstairs, UK
    now you mention it. the last couple of days i have been having lots of windows updates in relation to office 2003. i will uninstall and see how it goes. i use office 2000 anyway lol.

    edit: i cant even find it in add or remove programes.

    all i can find is office 2000.

    let me search for it.
     
  6. bush dogg

    bush dogg OSNN Senior Addict Political User

    Messages:
    433
    Location:
    Kansas
    If you want to see what services are associated with each process (svchost or any other process) you can run “tasklist /svc”.

    Click start/run in the open box type cmd click ok when the cmd window comes up type “tasklist /svc” without the quotes and a space between tasklist and /svc.

    This will list each running process and the service’s associated with them, it may tell you something right off or if nothing stands out to you then you can do a search for the service’s associated with each of the svchost’s that are running to find out what they are for (you may have a virus).
     
  7. Johnny

    Johnny .. Commodore .. Political User

    Messages:
    5,015
    Location:
    Happy Valley
    This must be a XP Pro feature. I tried it with home edition and got the not recognized error ... I have noticed that if I disable autoupdate it goes back down again. I wonder if there is a way to stop the updates for office 2003 ...
     
  8. bush dogg

    bush dogg OSNN Senior Addict Political User

    Messages:
    433
    Location:
    Kansas
    That’s right I forgot it was for XP pro only, Sorry about that.

    You can download the “tasklist” file from Here (second one down tasklist.exe) and then copy it to “c/windows/system32” replace the “c” with whatever drive windows is installed on.

    Once the file is in windows/system32 then you can open a cmd window and run
    “tasklist /svc” to get the list.
    The download file is a Microsoft file and I haven’t had any problem running the list this way from an XP home machine.

    This might tell you what service is associated with the office 2003 updates when the problem happens (then maybe disable or set the service to manual) and see if that helps untill Microsoft fixes this.
     
  9. American Zombie

    American Zombie Moderator Staff Member Political User

    Messages:
    2,933
    Location:
    Seattle
    I don't think it is necessary to place the file in system32 as I have it in the root of the drive (c:\) and it runs fine from there.
     
  10. bobsalot

    bobsalot Boooooooooooooooooooom

    Messages:
    1,584
    Location:
    Broadstairs, UK
    It hasnt happened to me yet today. I think it was the update for office 2003. Must be a problem there.
     
  11. bobsalot

    bobsalot Boooooooooooooooooooom

    Messages:
    1,584
    Location:
    Broadstairs, UK
    Its still happening

    i post tasklist now!!
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 24, 2006
  12. bush dogg

    bush dogg OSNN Senior Addict Political User

    Messages:
    433
    Location:
    Kansas
    Right click the task bar and select “Task Manager” then click “View” and click “select Columns” tick PID (process identifier) and click “OK”

    This will add a column to the process page that will be listed as “PID” under this column will be some numbers; these are the process identifier numbers for that session.
    (The PID number will change after every reboot so you can’t use the same number every time, you will have to check each time)

    Now that that’s done you just wait until one of the “svchost” process’s act up again using 100% CPU.

    When you see this happen again open Task Manager and make a note of the “PID Number” of the “svchost” that is using 100% of the CPU then open a cmd window and run “tasklist /svc” without the quotes and compare the “PID Numbers” with the problem svchost to find what process is giving you a problem.

    “I’m just thinking out loud now so if you fine the problem is with the “usnsvc” service you may want to do a complete uninstall and reinstall of the Microsoft windows live messenger and see how that goes”

    Or ask others here with this problem to try the above steps and compare services that are giving the problems “never know we might see a pattern with the same service causing this on most of these occasions.
     
  13. bobsalot

    bobsalot Boooooooooooooooooooom

    Messages:
    1,584
    Location:
    Broadstairs, UK
  14. American Zombie

    American Zombie Moderator Staff Member Political User

    Messages:
    2,933
    Location:
    Seattle
  15. lancer

    lancer There is no answer! Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    3,093
    Location:
    FL, USA
    your problem is your using AOL. :laugh:
     
  16. Johnny

    Johnny .. Commodore .. Political User

    Messages:
    5,015
    Location:
    Happy Valley
    I don't have AOL installed in my PC and it did it all the time, until I disabled auto update. Since I disabled that it hasn't done it yet .. I was thinking windows live messenger as well, but, since it isn't doing it since I disabled auto update; I'll leave it alone to see what happens ..

    I'm curious, are you running the newest version of WLM, Bobsalot ??

    Thanx for the link, AZ. I will check that out ..

    [edit] I just took a look at the process explorer, nice program by the way, it has a list in the svhost that was spiking for me. I noticed that Auto Update was right at the top of the list. And there was about 20 things in it that could be disabled, as they aren't being used. Looking at the list; I feel it is the auto update. It could be associated with Office 2003, though. I never had this problem until I installed office 2003. It's kinda funny though because I reformatted last week, adn before the refomat I had office 2003 in and it never did this. [/edit]
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2006
  17. greggustin

    greggustin OSNN Addict

    Messages:
    166
    I get tons of pop-up saying genreic services has casued an error . . .
    send report?
    I play lots of games - and this caues issues

    it just started last week
     
  18. bobsalot

    bobsalot Boooooooooooooooooooom

    Messages:
    1,584
    Location:
    Broadstairs, UK
    Great....thanks for the help.
     
  19. American Zombie

    American Zombie Moderator Staff Member Political User

    Messages:
    2,933
    Location:
    Seattle
    bobsalot - Did you see link to process explorer and/or is problem solved?
     
  20. bobsalot

    bobsalot Boooooooooooooooooooom

    Messages:
    1,584
    Location:
    Broadstairs, UK
    i have process explorer. i havent been in for past 3 days so i havent noticed if anything has happened.