no uptime? wtf?

Discussion in 'Windows Server Systems' started by fimchick, Feb 28, 2006.

  1. fimchick

    fimchick OSNN Senior Addict

    Messages:
    276
    Location:
    Somewhere
    hullo,

    i've googled myself to death searching for some way to determine server 2003 uptime, and can find nothing.

    anyone?

    thanks!!
     
  2. omg its nlm

    omg its nlm lvl 17 Hax Folding Team

    Messages:
    1,829
    Location:
    Minnesota
    perfmon.msc?
     
    fimchick likes this.
  3. madmatt

    madmatt Bow Down to the King Political User

    Messages:
    13,312
    Location:
    New York
    Here.
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2006
    fimchick likes this.
  4. fimchick

    fimchick OSNN Senior Addict

    Messages:
    276
    Location:
    Somewhere
    er...duh...i'll go hide now

    lol
     
  5. Admiral Michael

    Admiral Michael Michaelsoft Systems CEO Folding Team

    There's always using systeminfo from a command prompt. It will even tell you the original install date.

    Same with XP Pro, HOME doesnt include this altho you can copy systeminfo.exe from an XP Pro machine to C:\WINDOWS\System32 and it will work.

    EDIT: using uptime.exe that madmatt posted works well too. Place it in C:\WINDOWS\System32 and at a command prompt type uptime then hit enter and it will display the uptime.
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2006
    fimchick likes this.
  6. fitz

    fitz Just Floating Along Staff Member Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    4,076
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    you can also use the uptime utility mentioned above on remote systems as well (assuming you have admin rights). More info on the tool can be found on Microsoft's site here. Personally, I love this little app - and while the article says it applies to NT4/win2000, I can testify to the fact that it also works with XP and 2k3 servers as well.
     
  7. Mastershakes

    Mastershakes Moderator

    Messages:
    1,721
    Location:
    Montreal
    That is an excellent little tool, we use it alot as well.

    I sometimes get lazy and right click My Network Places, and go to Properties.
    Then I right click Local Area Connection and go to status. Usually the uptime is the same as the connection to the network. USUALLY. ;)
     
  8. madmatt

    madmatt Bow Down to the King Political User

    Messages:
    13,312
    Location:
    New York
    It works on any OS. It takes the "ticks" and calculated the uptime from there. Windows Server 2003 logs an event at 12:00 PM every day with the "ticks".

     
  9. Mastershakes

    Mastershakes Moderator

    Messages:
    1,721
    Location:
    Montreal
    If we execute

    'uptime /heartbeat' Does it send the server into defib? Do we need paddles to revive it?

    WILL IT DIE? LOL

    I kid, I kid. :)
     
  10. fitz

    fitz Just Floating Along Staff Member Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    4,076
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    *preps paddles on Mastershakes*

    "I'll give you some real shakes!

    CLEAR!!
     
  11. Mastershakes

    Mastershakes Moderator

    Messages:
    1,721
    Location:
    Montreal
    LOL

    I've been running around in BF2 with my paddles alot lately. Still havn't managed to do what you imply - shock a person with a perfectly good heart rate. I want to kill with it ! (In BF2 of course) ;)

    /no thread hijack intended