network is very sloooow

Discussion in 'Windows Desktop Systems' started by cspm2003, Sep 9, 2003.

  1. cspm2003

    cspm2003 Guest

    I got my network all setup, 1 server, 6 clients, and in the beginning everything was really good. But since today everything is just slow. It takes like 5 minutes till the contents of my mapped network drive on the server get displayed, and datatransfer is very slow to.

    someone knows why tbe network would slow down that much, or how I can tweak it?? thx
     
  2. Friend of Bill

    Friend of Bill What, me worry?

    Messages:
    1,572
    Try running a tracert on the network and see where packet loss occures.
     
  3. JJB6486

    JJB6486 Retired Mod Political User

    Messages:
    1,207
    Location:
    West Lafayette, IN, USA
    Make sure that all unnecissary protocols (NetBEUI, IPX/SPX, NWLink,etc) are uninstalled

    Uninstall or disable QoS packet scheduler, your server may run QoS software that is throttling connections.

    Check physical layer (good quality cables, hub/switch working proplerly, etc)

    Check NIC drivers, get the latest one from the manufactuerer

    Blah Blah Blah...

    The problem isnt all that specific, so there isnt any one sure-fire solution. Try all the above.
     
  4. cspm2003

    cspm2003 Guest

    ok, thx. I'll try it.
    Here is what I was thinking about: I am running Norton AV Corp. Server on the server, and all the other PCs use Norton AV Corp Client and are managed by the server. Could this slow it down alot??
     
  5. Friend of Bill

    Friend of Bill What, me worry?

    Messages:
    1,572
    Pin point it with a tracert.
     
  6. JJB6486

    JJB6486 Retired Mod Political User

    Messages:
    1,207
    Location:
    West Lafayette, IN, USA
    Probably not. I have a network for a school i admin running ~30 clients with Norton Corp w/ server on 10mbit Hubs and it runs fine.

    JJB
     
  7. cspm2003

    cspm2003 Guest

    ok, thx. I was about to get rid of the hole AV system.

    Everything seems to be working fine if I restart the clients, but only for about 30mins, then it gets slow again
     
  8. LeeJend

    LeeJend Moderator

    Messages:
    5,291
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    Any chance you picked up the blaster worm? Worm activity would slow the network down and antivirus will not prevent it.


    Check for the worm detector download. Most AV sites have it and I think M$ even has it posted.