MSI KT3 Ultra motherboard ?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by XPos, Aug 17, 2002.

  1. XPos

    XPos OSNN Addict

    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    Kansas
    I've noticed that some of you have the same mb as me. Are any of you experiencing problems with establishing your fsb speed? It would appear that I'm limited to 100MHz. With a 1800+ cpu I should be able to extend my fsb to 133MHz to get nominal performance out of my processor at 1533MHz. Is this correct or am I not configuring the bios correctly. I've got the VIA drivers updated, video drivers are up to date.
     
  2. XPos

    XPos OSNN Addict

    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    Kansas
  3. XPos

    XPos OSNN Addict

    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ok can anyone with xp-erience with this mobo tell me what you have your BIOS AGP and Frequency settings?


    oh and the DRAM Timing control settings would help.
     
  4. Sazar

    Sazar F@H - Is it in you? Staff Member Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    14,905
    Location:
    Between Austin and Tampa
    lol...

    mate.. when you boot... press del.. and it will take you straight to your BIOS setup..

    there go to the frequency and voltage thingy and change the frequency manually to 133...

    the kt3 ultra starts at 100 by default as some chips may not support 133... its precautionary...

    just change it and save the changes and exit... it will change automatically... you will notice the changes when you boot.. it SHOULD say that you have an 1800+ that you are using...

    if you still need help with this pm me and I will tell you exactly what to do... :)

    the manual should tell you what to do as well..
     
  5. XPos

    XPos OSNN Addict

    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    Kansas
    ok... I'm lost in update land. I have every possible update for this computer and still no 1.533 GHz. Updated the BIOS, DirectX 8.1, Detonator 30.82, Via 4in1, what else is there? Every game I play runs for a little bit and then freezes. No error message, blue screen, nothing...

    any advise will be helpful

    Thanks
     
  6. Sazar

    Sazar F@H - Is it in you? Staff Member Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    14,905
    Location:
    Between Austin and Tampa
    did you try all the little tips I told you about? incremental increases et al?

    I dunno mate... could be agp problem/board problem/vid card problem/cpu problem... any number of things..

    is there a screen shot of an error message that you get or does it just die on you?

    also this was not an error you were getting before is it?

    you had said that the only problem you were getting was of getting your fsb past 100...

    keep us posted...
     
  7. XPos

    XPos OSNN Addict

    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    Kansas
    No that's the problem, there are no errors. In the system information log I have all sorts of information that tells me nothing.

    7/10/2002 12:36 AM Application Error Faulting application wolfsp.exe, version 0.0.0.0, faulting module qagamex86.dll, version 0.0.0.0, fault address 0x0001f7f9.

    8/10/2002 10:01 PM Application Error Faulting application unreal.exe, version 0.0.0.0, faulting module core.dll, version 0.0.0.0, fault address 0x00041f40.

    8/10/2002 12:56 PM Application Error Faulting application tntclk.exe, version 1.2.0.0, faulting module tntclk.exe, version 1.2.0.0, fault address 0x00002411.

    8/10/2002 5:57 PM Application Hang Hanging application UNREALTOURNAMENT.ICD, version 0.0.0.0, hang module hungapp, version 0.0.0.0, hang address 0x00000000.

    8/10/2002 9:58 PM Application Error Faulting application unreal.exe, version 0.0.0.0, faulting module core.dll, version 0.0.0.0, fault address 0x00041f40.

    8/10/2002 9:58 PM Application Error Faulting application unreal.exe, version 0.0.0.0, faulting module core.dll, version 0.0.0.0, fault address 0x00041f40.

    8/17/2002 12:26 AM Application Error Faulting application avgcc32.exe, version 6.0.0.378, faulting module unknown, version 0.0.0.0, fault address 0x00000000.

    8/9/2002 12:54 PM Application Hang Hanging application geOShell.exe, version 4.9.0.0, hang module hungapp, version 0.0.0.0, hang address 0x00000000.

    8/9/2002 3:21 AM Application Error Faulting application avgw.exe, version 6.0.0.361, faulting module avgw.exe, version 6.0.0.361, fault address 0x00020d8f.
     
  8. Sazar

    Sazar F@H - Is it in you? Staff Member Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    14,905
    Location:
    Between Austin and Tampa
    ok... sounds drastic but try this..

    format the whole thing... start from scratch..

    will take you a while but the software based errors should be fixed...

    see if that helps with the errors..

    the fsb thing... it SHOULD work.. without and probs...

    can't say anything more... it doesnt go above 100 mhz fsb ?

    thats very odd...
     
  9. XPos

    XPos OSNN Addict

    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    Kansas
    That's what I was thinking. Talk to you later.
     
  10. neonwizard

    neonwizard OSNN Addict

    Messages:
    78
    You have probably done this already but, don't type 133 it will revert back to 100 use the page up or page down key then use the arrow key to move to the next setting and see if the 133 stays, this is what I had to do with mine.
     
  11. XPos

    XPos OSNN Addict

    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    Kansas
    Do you guys have all your USB ports plugged in? When I try to reinstall XP I get an error. Something to do with USB ports.

    STOP: 0x000000D1 (0x20206404,0x00000002,0x00000000,0xF8406A41)

    I'm searching the Knowledge Base now.
     
  12. neonwizard

    neonwizard OSNN Addict

    Messages:
    78
    In BIO under Integrated Peripherals Usb Controller select all USB Ports
     
  13. XPos

    XPos OSNN Addict

    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ok... All USB ports (default setting) is selected. I tried disabling them to see what would happen. It got past the the first installation phase and just hung there. Any clue to what that means?

    Anyone care to walk me through the bios settings?
     
  14. neonwizard

    neonwizard OSNN Addict

    Messages:
    78
    Do you have your manual? if so copy what you see in the diagrams exactly.
     
  15. XPos

    XPos OSNN Addict

    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    Kansas
    Done. Thanks for your help but I need sleep and its starting to storm outside, so I'm done for the day. The computer will be going to the shop today.
     
  16. Sazar

    Sazar F@H - Is it in you? Staff Member Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    14,905
    Location:
    Between Austin and Tampa
    probably best idea... somethng iscausing a glitch...

    I can't figure it out...

    yes xp and usb devices can sometimes not like each other much but after playing around withthe bios and with different settings under xp you should be ok...

    g.luck with the shop..

    but that IS a good board... mucho bang for the buck...
     
  17. XPos

    XPos OSNN Addict

    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    Kansas
    After taking everything out and trying to reinstall XP I believe it's probably the CPU. Did you have to install at 100MHz and then rase the clock speed? Either way I've tried it still no go.
     
  18. Cosmin

    Cosmin Graphic Designer

    Messages:
    1,633
    Location:
    Romania
    Same problem as I had/have . Incompatibilities : Vidcard -mobo ( leadtek Gf4MX 440 - ECS M830 sis735 ) . I've tried also fresh XP reinstall but nope .. I am not able to select fsb 133 & AGP4x too ; what would it be ? i thought at an Epox8KTA3+ .. any opinions ?
     
  19. XPos

    XPos OSNN Addict

    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    Kansas
    Have you tried any other video cards?
     
  20. Cosmin

    Cosmin Graphic Designer

    Messages:
    1,633
    Location:
    Romania
    problem appeared after swiching Voodoo 3 2000 AGP to this geforce4 , I've heard that ECS has problems with new geforce series but MSI ..:confused: . Other ideeas ?

    Currently working on AGP2x , fsb 100 and crashes sometimes ..