Mobo question

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by silky62678, Sep 7, 2003.

  1. silky62678

    silky62678 Guest

    when a mobo say it can handle up to amd 2000+, does it mean it can handle up to the 2000+ speed? What if i have a 2400+ and underclock it to 2000+ speed, should it work, or is this a trial and error issue?
     
  2. Goatman

    Goatman Ska Daddy

    Messages:
    676
    Which board are you attempting to use?? if it's supports a 2000+ it should support the 2400+ (they use the same FSB)
     
  3. GoNz0

    GoNz0 NTFS Stoner

    Messages:
    2,781
    Location:
    the year 2525
    if the mobo was rated as 2000+ it normally means at the time that was the fastest chip out for that board, as soon as faster chips come out at the same FSB, the mobo maker issues a bios update to read the new and faster chips, but from experience, doing this makes the board run very bloody hot as its at its upper limits. a friend has upgraded bios on 2 boards to take a faster chip than originaly designed, and had lots of issues/ crash's through it, after upgrading to a board designed to run that chip and beyond, the probelms go away again.
     
  4. silky62678

    silky62678 Guest

    It's not for my mobo, a friend, i think she has a MSI, not sure what model.
     
  5. Taurus

    Taurus hardware monkey

    Messages:
    3,206
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    this doesn't really make sense because going from, say, a 2000+ to a 2600+ would not put any strain on the motherboard. i will still have the same fsb but only the multiplier will go up. any heat problems would be from the new processor which would be running just as hot as it would on any other board.
     
  6. Goatman

    Goatman Ska Daddy

    Messages:
    676
    actually, it's hard to find 2600+ with the 266 FSB, most of the 2600+ I've come across have the 333 FSB...
     
  7. Taurus

    Taurus hardware monkey

    Messages:
    3,206
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    heh, i'm still living in the past. i'll have to start using the 2400+ in my examples from now on.
     
  8. ejm

    ejm viking lost down under

    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi m8

    My suggestion is to contact MSI and ask them how fast a cpu the m/b can take. Reason being, that just because it says + doesn't mean that it can take a 2.4. My last m/b (1.6) said +, but that was only max 2.0. That particular cpu is hard to get hold of. As I allways say better safe than sorry, allways get the info from the horses mouth.

    ejm