is there an easy way too find a computers MAC address?

Discussion in 'Windows Desktop Systems' started by _kC_, Jan 24, 2004.

  1. _kC_

    _kC_ Moderator

    Messages:
    514
    hi just wondering if there is a command that can be run from start/run that will show me the MAC address of the machines i am working on.

    have some laptops i need too add too the MAC ALLOW list of my wireless access point, and currently i m having too plug them into HUB via 10/100 cable then checking firewall, and reading the mac address, etc....
    must be an easier way?
     
  2. Xie

    Xie - geek - Subscribed User Folding Team

    Messages:
    5,275
    Location:
    NY, USA
    i think it shows w/ a "ipconfig /all" in command line on xp :)
     
  3. Xie

    Xie - geek - Subscribed User Folding Team

    Messages:
    5,275
    Location:
    NY, USA
    ok it does ... they list it as "physical address"
     
  4. _kC_

    _kC_ Moderator

    Messages:
    514
    great thanks, but how do ya make the box stay open? it flashes off very quick..
     
  5. j79zlr

    j79zlr Glaanies script monkey Political User

    Messages:
    2,725
    Location:
    Chicago
    run it from the command prompt, not directly from RUN
     
  6. _kC_

    _kC_ Moderator

    Messages:
    514
    hmm what dir should command prompt be in?
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>
    'ipconfig' is not recognized as an intern
    operable program or batch file.

    also same when i try from windows, windows system & system32 folders
     
  7. Erbmaster

    Erbmaster Moderator Folding Team

    Messages:
    1,195
    Location:
    Middle Of Nowhere - UK
    Try running it from Start>>Programs>>Accessories>>Command Prompt ;)
     
  8. _kC_

    _kC_ Moderator

    Messages:
    514

    lol :D

    my last post is what i pasted from a command prompt when i typed ipconfig..

    what i meant in last post is that when i open command prompt its automatically started in my docs, and i need too know where i should change the dir too before i type ipconfig
     
  9. Erbmaster

    Erbmaster Moderator Folding Team

    Messages:
    1,195
    Location:
    Middle Of Nowhere - UK
    You don't need to. Just type ipconfig /all and you're away ;)
    It lives in Windows\system32 btw
     
  10. _kC_

    _kC_ Moderator

    Messages:
    514
    A paste from command prompt
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ipconfig /all
    'ipconfig' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>cd ..

    C:\Documents and Settings>cd ..

    C:\>cd windows

    C:\WINDOWS>cd system32

    C:\WINDOWS\system32>ipconfig /all
    'ipconfig' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    C:\WINDOWS\system32>
     
  11. j79zlr

    j79zlr Glaanies script monkey Political User

    Messages:
    2,725
    Location:
    Chicago
    post what SET returns
     
  12. _kC_

    _kC_ Moderator

    Messages:
    514
    ?

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>set
    ALLUSERSPROFILE=C:\Documents and Settings\All Users
    APPDATA=C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Application Data
    CLIENTNAME=Console
    CommonProgramFiles=C:\Program Files\Common Files
    COMPUTERNAME=blahblah
    ComSpec=C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe
    HOMEDRIVE=C:
    HOMEPATH=\Documents and Settings\Administrator
    LOGONSERVER=\\blahblah
    NUMBER_OF_PROCESSORS=1
    OS=Windows_NT
    Path=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32;C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\WBEM;C:\Tcl\bin;;C:\PROG
    RA~1\F-Secure\Ssh;
    PATHEXT=;.tcl
    PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE=x86
    PROCESSOR_IDENTIFIER=x86 Family 6 Model 2 Stepping 2, AuthenticAMD
    PROCESSOR_LEVEL=6
    PROCESSOR_REVISION=0202
    ProgramFiles=C:\Program Files
    PROMPT=$P$G
    SESSIONNAME=Console
    SystemDrive=C:
    SystemRoot=C:\WINDOWS
    TEMP=C:\Temp
    TMP=C:\Temp
    USERDOMAIN=blahblah
    USERNAME=kC
    USERPROFILE=C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator
    windir=C:\WINDOWS

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>
     
  13. theevilsithlord

    theevilsithlord Hail to the King, Baby!

    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    Champaign, IL UIUC
    try this utility i use: wntipcfg
    once installed, go to run and type wntipcfg.
     
  14. _kC_

    _kC_ Moderator

    Messages:
    514
    Installed it too its default dir
    c:\program files\resource kit


    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>wntipcfg
    'wntipcfg' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>cd ..

    C:\Documents and Settings>cd ..

    C:\>cd progr~1
    The system cannot find the path specified.

    C:\>cd program files

    C:\Program Files>cd resource kit

    C:\Program Files\Resource Kit>wntipcfg
    'wntipcfg' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    C:\Program Files\Resource Kit>cd ..

    C:\Program Files>cd ..

    C:\>cd windows

    C:\WINDOWS>cd system32

    C:\WINDOWS\system32>wntipcfg
    'wntipcfg' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    C:\WINDOWS\system32>wntipcfg.exe
    'wntipcfg.exe' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    C:\WINDOWS\system32>



    ALSO it cant be found when i do just startmenu/run/wntipcfg
     
  15. _kC_

    _kC_ Moderator

    Messages:
    514
    and heres what happens when i try too run the .exe from the resource kit folder

    see images
     

    Attached Files:

  16. theevilsithlord

    theevilsithlord Hail to the King, Baby!

    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    Champaign, IL UIUC
    hmmm, i guess u could try CC Get MAC address but if the others didnt work this probably wont.
     
  17. _kC_

    _kC_ Moderator

    Messages:
    514
    yeh that works perfect.. thanks very much for ya help
     
  18. theevilsithlord

    theevilsithlord Hail to the King, Baby!

    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    Champaign, IL UIUC