Internet Explorer Problems

Discussion in 'Windows Desktop Systems' started by o0_Enigma_0o, Aug 7, 2006.

  1. o0_Enigma_0o

    o0_Enigma_0o OSNN Junior Addict

    Messages:
    48
    Hi,

    Wonder if you guys could help me?

    I have had the following problem for around 2 weeks now and no amount of Microsoft Support has fixed it.

    Anyway here goes...

    I am running a Windows XP Pro computer on a network, Windows Firewall is enabled, and Kaspersky Anti Virus.

    When I open up internet explorer I just get a blank screen.

    If I use the ping command i get a response from Google no problem.
    I have also installed Firefox and this works with no problem.
    Also HTTPS:// websites seem to work ok within IE but normal HTTP websites just give a blank screen.

    My Outlook seems to work but it cannot download images that are web based.

    Also other programs that require IE don’t work either...

    Any ideas?

    Thanks in advance.

    Kirk
     
  2. madmatt

    madmatt Bow Down to the King Political User

    Messages:
    13,312
    Location:
    New York
    There are several different things you could try.

    Firstly, have you given thought to or have you already upgraded to Internet Explorer 7 (Beta 3)? The latest public beta is very stable and works very well.

    Secondly, if you decide that you do not want to upgrade then I would suggest resetting all of the default security options. This goes for the "Advanced" tab as well.

    Lastly, run Command Prompt and type "ipconfig /release *" and "ipconfig /flushdns". After those two command complete type "ipconfig /renew *".

    Let us know how you make out.
     
  3. o0_Enigma_0o

    o0_Enigma_0o OSNN Junior Addict

    Messages:
    48
    Hi Matt

    Thanks for the reply,

    I have tryed everything below including the Upgrading to IE 7, after I upgraded I ended up removing it because it still didnt work.

    But the ipconfig stuf worked well but IE still is not working.

    I have checked with Kaspersky Antivirus and this shows that I have no malware on this computer..

    Anyway

    Thanks for your help so far, but do you have any further info?

    Kirk
     
  4. madmatt

    madmatt Bow Down to the King Political User

    Messages:
    13,312
    Location:
    New York
    I would use another anti-malware tool to scan for malware just to be on the safe side.

    Windows Defender (Beta 2) works well. Also consider trying the online version on Windows OneCare (http://safety.live.com).

    Check the Startup tab of "MSCONFIG" for anything that doesn't make sense.

    If all else fails, post a HiJackThis log and we'll comb through it.
     
  5. o0_Enigma_0o

    o0_Enigma_0o OSNN Junior Addict

    Messages:
    48
    Hi,

    HiJack This log as follows :

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
    Scan saved at 15:07:09, on 07/08/2006
    Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\EPSON\EBAPI\eEBSVC.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\cisvc.exe
    C:\Program Files\Analog Devices\SoundMAX\SMAgent.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\igfxtray.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\hkcmd.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\igfxpers.exe
    C:\Program Files\Analog Devices\SoundMAX\SMTray.exe
    C:\Program Files\DAEMON Tools\daemon.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\PCSuite\DataLayer\DataLayer.exe
    C:\Program Files\Nokia\Nokia PC Suite 6\LaunchApplication.exe
    C:\Program Files\Sony Ericsson\Mobile2\Application Launcher\Application Launcher.exe
    C:\Program Files\iTunes\iTunesHelper.exe
    C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe
    C:\Program Files\MessengerPlus! 3\MsgPlus.exe
    C:\Program Files\iPod\bin\iPodService.exe
    C:\Program Files\Sharp\Sharpdesk\IndexTray.exe
    C:\Program Files\Sharp\Sharpdesk\SharpTray.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~3\wcescomm.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\Sharp\SHARPD~1\Indexer.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Teleca Shared\CapabilityManager.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\PCSuite\Services\SERVIC~1.EXE
    C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~3\rapimgr.exe
    C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Distillr\acrotray.exe
    C:\Program Files\Sharp\Sharpdesk\sdFTP.exe
    C:\Program Files\MSN Messenger\MsnMsgr.Exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Teleca Shared\Generic.exe
    C:\Program Files\Sony Ericsson\Mobile2\Mobile Phone Monitor\epmworker.exe
    C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\OFFICE11\OUTLOOK.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\OFFICE11\WINWORD.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\cidaemon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\cidaemon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
    C:\Program Files\BitComet\BitComet.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\WISPTIS.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\explorer.exe
    C:\Program Files\WinRAR\WinRAR.exe
    C:\DOCUME~1\KIRKST~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\Rar$EX00.890\HijackThis.exe

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.google.co.uk/
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://companyweb
    O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {206E52E0-D52E-11D4-AD54-0000E86C26F6} - C:\PROGRA~1\FRESHD~1\FRESHD~1\fdcatch.dll
    O2 - BHO: Windows Live Sign-in Helper - {9030D464-4C02-4ABF-8ECC-5164760863C6} - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Windows Live\WindowsLiveLogin.dll
    O2 - BHO: Google Toolbar Helper - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar2.dll
    O2 - BHO: AcroIEToolbarHelper Class - {AE7CD045-E861-484f-8273-0445EE161910} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: Adobe PDF - {47833539-D0C5-4125-9FA8-0819E2EAAC93} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar2.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: FreshDownload Bar - {ED0E8CA5-42FB-4B18-997B-769E0408E79D} - C:\PROGRA~1\FRESHD~1\FRESHD~1\fdiebar.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [KAVPersonal50] "C:\Program Files\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Anti-Virus Personal\kav.exe" /minimize
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [igfxtray] C:\WINDOWS\System32\igfxtray.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [igfxhkcmd] C:\WINDOWS\System32\hkcmd.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [igfxpers] C:\WINDOWS\System32\igfxpers.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Smapp] C:\Program Files\Analog Devices\SoundMAX\SMTray.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [DAEMON Tools] "C:\Program Files\DAEMON Tools\daemon.exe" -lang 1033
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [DataLayer] C:\Program Files\Common Files\PCSuite\DataLayer\DataLayer.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PCSuiteTrayApplication] C:\Program Files\Nokia\Nokia PC Suite 6\LaunchApplication.exe -onlytray
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Sony Ericsson PC Suite] "C:\Program Files\Sony Ericsson\Mobile2\Application Launcher\Application Launcher.exe" /startoptions
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [iTunesHelper] "C:\Program Files\iTunes\iTunesHelper.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MessengerPlus3] "C:\Program Files\MessengerPlus! 3\MsgPlus.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [IndexTray] "C:\Program Files\Sharp\Sharpdesk\IndexTray.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SharpTray] "C:\Program Files\Sharp\Sharpdesk\SharpTray.exe"
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [H/PC Connection Agent] "C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~3\wcescomm.exe"
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [MessengerPlus3] "C:\Program Files\MessengerPlus! 3\MsgPlus.exe" /WinStart
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [msnmsgr] "C:\Program Files\MSN Messenger\MsnMsgr.Exe" /background
    O4 - Startup: Adobe Gamma.lnk = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Calibration\Adobe Gamma Loader.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: Acrobat Assistant.lnk = C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Distillr\acrotray.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: Adobe Gamma Loader.lnk = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Calibration\Adobe Gamma Loader.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: AutoCAD Startup Accelerator.lnk = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Autodesk Shared\acstart16.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: EPSON Status Monitor 3 Environment Check.lnk = C:\WINDOWS\system32\spool\drivers\w32x86\3\E_SRCV03.EXE
    O4 - Global Startup: Start Network Scanner Tool.lnk = C:\Program Files\Sharp\Sharpdesk\sdFTP.exe
    O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\OFFICE11\EXCEL.EXE/3000
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Sothink SWF Catcher - C:\Program Files\Common Files\SourceTec\SWF Catcher\InternetExplorer.htm
    O9 - Extra button: Create Mobile Favorite - {2EAF5BB1-070F-11D3-9307-00C04FAE2D4F} - C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~3\INetRepl.dll
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {2EAF5BB2-070F-11D3-9307-00C04FAE2D4F} - C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~3\INetRepl.dll
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Create Mobile Favorite... - {2EAF5BB2-070F-11D3-9307-00C04FAE2D4F} - C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~3\INetRepl.dll
    O9 - Extra button: Research - {92780B25-18CC-41C8-B9BE-3C9C571A8263} - C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\OFFICE11\REFIEBAR.DLL
    O9 - Extra button: FreshDownload - {A66DD2B8-CC4A-4C9A-8ABB-E0DD5093D28E} - C:\Program Files\FreshDevices\FreshDownload\fd.exe
    O9 - Extra button: Sothink SWF Catcher - {E19ADC6E-3909-43E4-9A89-B7B676377EE3} - C:\Program Files\Common Files\SourceTec\SWF Catcher\InternetExplorer.htm
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sothink SWF Catcher - {E19ADC6E-3909-43E4-9A89-B7B676377EE3} - C:\Program Files\Common Files\SourceTec\SWF Catcher\InternetExplorer.htm
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - %windir%\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe (file missing)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: @xpsp3res.dll,-20001 - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - %windir%\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe (file missing)
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O14 - IERESET.INF: START_PAGE_URL=http://companyweb
    O15 - Trusted Zone: www.e-t-r.net
    O16 - DPF: {00B71CFB-6864-4346-A978-C0A14556272C} (Checkers Class) - http://messenger.zone.msn.com/binary/msgrchkr.cab31267.cab
    O16 - DPF: {03F998B2-0E00-11D3-A498-00104B6EB52E} (MetaStreamCtl Class) - https://components.viewpoint.com/MT.../www.truearth.com/prod_1km/roamer_content.htm
    O16 - DPF: {14B87622-7E19-4EA8-93B3-97215F77A6BC} (MessengerStatsClient Class) - http://messenger.zone.msn.com/binary/MessengerStatsPAClient.cab31267.cab
    O16 - DPF: {56336BCB-3D8A-11D6-A00B-0050DA18DE71} (RdxIE Class) - http://software-dl.real.com/2852027ca2133ff11806/netzip/RdxIE601.cab
    O16 - DPF: {6414512B-B978-451D-A0D8-FCFDF33E833C} (WUWebControl Class) - http://update.microsoft.com/windowsupdate/v6/V5Controls/en/x86/client/wuweb_site.cab?1143120480344
    O16 - DPF: {6E32070A-766D-4EE6-879C-DC1FA91D2FC3} (MUWebControl Class) - http://update.microsoft.com/microsoftupdate/v6/V5Controls/en/x86/client/muweb_site.cab?1143120576332
    O16 - DPF: {7584C670-2274-4EFB-B00B-D6AABA6D3850} (Microsoft RDP Client Control (redist)) - https://vpn.kentgroup.co.uk/Remote/msrdp.cab
    O16 - DPF: {8E0D4DE5-3180-4024-A327-4DFAD1796A8D} (MessengerStatsClient Class) - http://messenger.zone.msn.com/binary/MessengerStatsClient.cab31267.cab
    O16 - DPF: {B38870E4-7ECB-40DA-8C6A-595F0A5519FF} (MsnMessengerSetupDownloadControl Class) - http://messenger.msn.com/download/MsnMessengerSetupDownloader.cab
    O16 - DPF: {B8BE5E93-A60C-4D26-A2DC-220313175592} (ZoneIntro Class) - http://messenger.zone.msn.com/binary/ZIntro.cab32846.cab
    O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\Parameters: Domain = kentphk.local
    O17 - HKLM\Software\..\Telephony: DomainName = kentphk.local
    O17 - HKLM\System\CS1\Services\Tcpip\Parameters: Domain = kentphk.local
    O18 - Protocol: livecall - {828030A1-22C1-4009-854F-8E305202313F} - C:\PROGRA~1\MSNMES~1\MSGRAP~1.DLL
    O18 - Protocol: msnim - {828030A1-22C1-4009-854F-8E305202313F} - C:\PROGRA~1\MSNMES~1\MSGRAP~1.DLL
    O18 - Protocol: sds - {79E0F14C-9C52-4218-89A7-7C4B0563D121} - C:\Program Files\Sharp\Sharpdesk\ExplorerExtensions.dll
    O20 - Winlogon Notify: igfxcui - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\igfxdev.dll
    O20 - Winlogon Notify: WgaLogon - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\WgaLogon.dll
    O23 - Service: Adobe LM Service - Adobe Systems - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe Systems Shared\Service\Adobelmsvc.exe
    O23 - Service: Autodesk Licensing Service - Autodesk - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Autodesk Shared\Service\AdskScSrv.exe
    O23 - Service: EpsonBidirectionalService - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\Common Files\EPSON\EBAPI\eEBSVC.exe
    O23 - Service: InstallDriver Table Manager (IDriverT) - Macrovision Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\InstallShield\Driver\1050\Intel 32\IDriverT.exe
    O23 - Service: iPodService - Apple Computer, Inc. - C:\Program Files\iPod\bin\iPodService.exe
    O23 - Service: Kaspersky Anti-Virus Service (kavsvc) - Kaspersky Lab - C:\Program Files\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Anti-Virus Personal\kavsvc.exe
    O23 - Service: SoundMAX Agent Service (SoundMAX Agent Service (default)) - Analog Devices, Inc. - C:\Program Files\Analog Devices\SoundMAX\SMAgent.exe


    Running a few anti mal ware program now... both Microsoft and Trend Micro...

    Cheers for your help..

    Kirk
     
  6. Dublex

    Dublex Quazatron R6 droid

    Messages:
    624
    Location:
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Have you tried disabling the antivirus software and then seeing if you can connect to google.co.uk?

    If that doesn't work, you could try temporarily turning off the firewall and connecting to google.co.uk and then turn it on again if the problem still exists or if it works.

    Your hijackthis log looks clean from what I can tell.
     
  7. madmatt

    madmatt Bow Down to the King Political User

    Messages:
    13,312
    Location:
    New York
    Kirk,

    Dublex's suggestion would be next in line. Everything looks clean. Try clearning all the allowed/disallowed programs from your firewall and starting with a clean list.
     
  8. o0_Enigma_0o

    o0_Enigma_0o OSNN Junior Addict

    Messages:
    48
    Hi guys

    I have tryed turning off the firewall, and the anti virus... and I have run thru this : http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/tutorial71.html#xp

    and it still dont bloody work...

    erm,

    I am going to try and log onto the computer without the network profile and see what happens...

    I will let you know brb

    Kirk
     
  9. o0_Enigma_0o

    o0_Enigma_0o OSNN Junior Addict

    Messages:
    48
    Ok,
    I have tryed the logging on to the local computer and not the network and its still the same...

    I really wish I could punch this computer :)

    Kirk
     
  10. kcnychief

    kcnychief █▄█ ▀█▄ █ Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    16,948
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    When was the last time it worked, if ever on this machine?

    I would go to start - run - type "MSCONFIG" without the quotes and hit enter.

    The further most right tab, which is Startup, uncheck all boxes and reboot.

    Try again - if it does work, go in and re-check the boxes one at a time until you find what is causing the isssue.

    If it doesn't work, go back to MSCONFIG, go to the Services tab, check the box to "Hide all Microsoft Services" and then disable all, reboot.
     
  11. o0_Enigma_0o

    o0_Enigma_0o OSNN Junior Addict

    Messages:
    48
    Ok,

    Going for it :)

    Will let you know the results..

    And the last time it worked as about a July 27th
    I installed Fresh Downloader a few days before.. but nothing on my system changed before then...

    but then... wooo hooo it stoped working... for no reason that i can see... :)
     
  12. kcnychief

    kcnychief █▄█ ▀█▄ █ Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    16,948
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Don't know if it was asked or if you tried it, but have you tried an alternative browser as well?

    I wouldn't encourage it for full time use, but it's a decent troubleshooting tool. Download and install Mozilla Firefox, Netscape Navigator, Opera or similar - just to see if the issue only effects IE.

    Try my suggestions first, if those don't work, try changing the browser temporarily. Once we get it switched, it's your call as to what you want to use although I do still recommend IE
     
  13. o0_Enigma_0o

    o0_Enigma_0o OSNN Junior Addict

    Messages:
    48
    Hi,

    OK I have been trying your MSCONFIG stuff,

    One good thing, - My computer is running a bit better because there are less proggys running...

    One Bad thing... IE Still dont work. :(

    I have installed Fire Fox and that works fine...
    But IE also works fine for SSL/HTTPS connections :)

    Cheers

    Kirk
     
  14. mlakrid

    mlakrid OSNN BASSMASTER Political User Folding Team

    Wierd... HTTPS works but HTTP doesnt?

    sounds fishy to me... you did say you reset all of your security settings in I.E right?
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2006
  15. American Zombie

    American Zombie Moderator Staff Member Political User

    Messages:
    2,931
    Location:
    Seattle
    No he said that https works but not http.

    Download and run IEFix.


    Other things I can think of are security setting in IE options and hosts file entries.
     
  16. mlakrid

    mlakrid OSNN BASSMASTER Political User Folding Team


    Hmmm... thats what I meant but not what I typed...
     
  17. madmatt

    madmatt Bow Down to the King Political User

    Messages:
    13,312
    Location:
    New York
    Good call on the Hosts file. I didn't even think of that.

    C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc
     
  18. o0_Enigma_0o

    o0_Enigma_0o OSNN Junior Addict

    Messages:
    48
    Rite Guys,

    Thanks for your help so far...

    Hosts files are mostly empty apart from 127.0.0.1 localhost

    And the IEfix thing has run and IE still dont work :|

    And I have defaulted all the security settings...

    I am going to cry :)

    Kirk
     
  19. madmatt

    madmatt Bow Down to the King Political User

    Messages:
    13,312
    Location:
    New York
    Any other computers within this network having the same issue? Did you uninstall Fresh Downloader?
     
  20. kcnychief

    kcnychief █▄█ ▀█▄ █ Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    16,948
    Location:
    Massachusetts