installing xp with a upgr. cd without installing an earlier version

Discussion in 'Windows Desktop Systems' started by gustav64, Sep 23, 2002.

1. gustav64

gustav64 Guest

Hi guys!

As you can see, i'm a newbie.

You can allmost see my question in the subject. Is it possible to install xp with the upgrade version, without installing for instance ME first.

Have to say; this is one of the best forums I've ever seen.:D

2. XP Abuser

XP Abuser Guest

welcome! no you can only install the upgrade over a previous version of windows as the full version has all the files it needs where and upgrade uses files from the previous operating system as well as updating or adding new files:)

3. allan

allan Guest

Not true. You absolutely can do a clean install with an upgrade disk. The upgrade version contains everything that is on the non-upgrade ("full") version.

Just go ahead and boot to the cd and do the install. At some point you'll be asked to insert the original disk from a prior OS just to prove you have it. That's it.

4. Eve

Eve Guest

Gustav64: as far as I know you don't actually have to have the other os installed you just need the installation cd to prove you have the other version and are not just try to get XP on the cheap. The upgrade cd searches for other versions of Windows and if It cannot find one it asks for the cd. I'm not certain about this, but I did an upgrade and I'm pretty sure this is what is said on the instructions.

5. cruiser78

cruiser78 Me

Yes, Eve and allan are right.

6. XP Abuser

XP Abuser Guest

you learn something new everyday especially on here

7. Nedreplan

Nedreplan Guest

Yes..it is that way. I have an upgrade version of WinXp HE as I have a full version of Win98.

Just boot up with WinXp CD..and when it asks for proof of a full version of an earier OS you put in that CD (Win98, WinME or Win2000), it checks..clears it..and then you put back the WinXp CD.