I want a new Cinema Display

Discussion in 'Macintosh' started by muzikool, Sep 14, 2004.

  1. muzikool

    muzikool Act your wage. Political User

    I don't care what size it is, considering the smallest one is 20"... I just want one really bad. I want it because it will match my computer, and because it's widescreen, and because it's like a freakin' piece of art, and because... *sigh*

    I'm really not asking that much, right? I mean, it's not like I'm demanding a 30" display, or even that I have 2 30" displays setup to form a massive 60" display! Do you realize that 4 DVI cables are required to run the full 1,000,000 pixels of a 60" display? But I'm not asking for that! Just a 20" Cinema Display... that's all.

    Anybody have some money? :D

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Johnny

    Johnny .. Commodore .. Political User

    Messages:
    5,015
    Location:
    Happy Valley
    Walk into your local comp usa pick one up and walk out the door with it. Just make sure someone is waiting for you outside lol .. They are sweet.

    I been trying to talk the misses into letting me get a Viewsonic 23 inch flat panel. But she won't let me spend the $2400.00 on it :( If anyone would like to donate one I would be really appreciative ..
     
  3. SPeedY_B

    SPeedY_B I may actually be insane.

    Messages:
    15,800
    Location:
    Midlands, England
    Can't recommend them enough, I love my 20" Cinema, and the new ones are even nicer.

    As for the Dual 30"s, you only need 2 DVI cables, and it's over 8-million pixels, not just 1-million ;)
     
  4. gonaads

    gonaads Beware the G-Man Political User Folding Team


    Some's got a chubby. :p
     
  5. sean.ferguson

    sean.ferguson Moderator Folding Team

    Messages:
    1,693
    Location:
    Fife; Scotland
    im waiting for me to be able to afford the G5 before i get too excited :p

    i already have it priced and spec'd:
    • Dual 1.8GHz PowerPC G5
    • 512MB DDR400 SDRAM (PC3200) - 2x256MB
    • 160GB Serial ATA
    • DVD-R/CD-RW
    • NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200 Ultra 64MB, ADC/DVI
    • 56k V.92 internal modem
    • AirPort Extreme Card
    • Apple Keyboard & Mouse
    • Mac OS X
    • Apple Cinema Display (20" flat panel)
    • AppleCare Protection Plan for Power Mac
    • One FireWire 800 port
    • Two FireWire 400 ports
    • Three USB 2.0 ports

    £2,825.99 - all inclusive :D
     
  6. indyjones

    indyjones OSNN.net Adventurer

    Messages:
    1,567
    Location:
    England
    ^^Glad to see no one is biting :) With reference to above what are the implications of using these on a pc? would games etc have the available resolutions? or can you switch the res as a normal tv to the 4:3 ratio? Thanks :)
     
  7. champ2005

    champ2005 | xs |

    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    whats interesting is that my fx5600 for eg can display DVI "up to" 1600x1200, and my old gf4ti could only do 1280x1024. how can it power 2560xblah? ive heard it reduces the refresh rate or something.

    With games if the engine is flexible enough it will let u run at all kinds of weird aspect ratios. HL2 can do 4:3, 16:9, 16:10, and maybe some others so it should work. id imagine you should be able to run a 4:3 resolution, loosing some width of the screen in the process.
     
  8. SPeedY_B

    SPeedY_B I may actually be insane.

    Messages:
    15,800
    Location:
    Midlands, England
    Indy, don't post things like that, it's annoying.

    You can use them on a PC, that was the whole point for using DVI connections rather than Apple's own ADC connections.

    With regards to resolution, that depends on your card, if your card is poor enough to not support 16:10, then you'll simply get a centred 4:3 image with huge borders down each side. Same goes for the games, if your software supports it, you can run widescreen resolutions (1280x800, 1650x1080, etc) most newer games support widescreen.

    champ2005, you heard wrong. There's nothing to do with refresh rates at all, they're Active Matrix LCD panels. The 20" and 23" can be used on anything with a DVI connector. The 30" requires to be powered by an nVidia 6800 Mac Edition, each DVI port has dual-link, which in basic terms is two DVI signals to each port, therefore having an effective 4-DVI channels on the card. Each channel powers about half the resolution, meaning you NEED that card to run the 30" and can also use dual 30"s with it.
     
  9. indyjones

    indyjones OSNN.net Adventurer

    Messages:
    1,567
    Location:
    England
    Bah was just a touch of banter.....
    But anyway these screens certainlly look very, very nice which is I guess why they are so expensive :eek: I am certainly green with envy of yours mr speedy :) my 19" crt did go a little funny the other day but not quite enough to justify one of these
    Hopefully mac will pull more products like these out of the bag with the extra help of the ipod pushing them along :)
     
  10. muzikool

    muzikool Act your wage. Political User

    Thanks for clearing that up, Speedy. I assumed since there were 2 ports per card then that meant two cables as well. As for the pixels, I couldn't remember the number, but for some reason 1 million sounded right. ;) Still, I'm not asking for 8 million either! :p
     
  11. SPeedY_B

    SPeedY_B I may actually be insane.

    Messages:
    15,800
    Location:
    Midlands, England
    <pedantic> 8.2 million actually </pedantic>

    <uber-pedantic> 8,192,000 to be precise </uber-pedantic>

    :p :D
     
  12. muzikool

    muzikool Act your wage. Political User

  13. X-Istence

    X-Istence * Political User

    Messages:
    6,498
    Location:
    USA
    I want one as well, if anyone of you becomes a millionaire don't forget us at OSNN.
     
  14. SPeedY_B

    SPeedY_B I may actually be insane.

    Messages:
    15,800
    Location:
    Midlands, England
    At least the new models are cheaper than the older ones.... which I bought.... *shakes fist* :p
     
  15. muzikool

    muzikool Act your wage. Political User

    But yours matches your G4, right?
     
  16. SPeedY_B

    SPeedY_B I may actually be insane.

    Messages:
    15,800
    Location:
    Midlands, England
    At the end of the day, my G4 is tucked under my desk, whether it matches is irrelevant :p

    But yes, it does match, I'd imagine the new alu-displays would match quite well too, may have to buy one to find out... I have a spare DVI port :D
     
  17. Wrathchild

    Wrathchild OSNN Senior Addict

    Messages:
    338
    Not great for watching movies

    They rock for graphics work but movies look terrible on them. I was looking at one which had a Harry POtter film playing on it at CompUSA and couldn't beleive how crappy the video looked. Artifacts, poor contrast, not at all what I would expect for something near the price of a Plasma HDTV.


    -Wrath
     
  18. SPeedY_B

    SPeedY_B I may actually be insane.

    Messages:
    15,800
    Location:
    Midlands, England
    Movies look fine here.
     
  19. muzikool

    muzikool Act your wage. Political User

    I went to the Apple Store in Dallas today and saw these babies first hand. I almost cried because I had to walk away empty-handed. :(
     
  20. SPeedY_B

    SPeedY_B I may actually be insane.

    Messages:
    15,800
    Location:
    Midlands, England
    Best get saving then! :D