Help setting up VPN

Discussion in 'Windows Desktop Systems' started by h2020, Jun 26, 2006.

  1. h2020

    h2020 OSNN One Post Wonder

    Messages:
    9
    Good day,
    I really hope experts here can teach me how to setup a VPN because I'm neither a server administrator nor I'm good in networking.

    I wish to setup a VPN so that I can backup the files from my office to my computer at home. I understand that VPN is able to perform that.

    For your information, the network in my house is as below:
    Mode --> WiFi 4-Ports Router (also the DSL dialer) --> Computer 1 & Computer 2

    Computer 1:
    Installed Windows 2003 Server. I've ran the Remote Access Wizard to setup a VPN, chose Typical Server Setup and clicked all the Next button for Microsoft to automatically setup everything for me (VPN, DCHP & DNS) I've also installed No-IP on my computer because I'm on a dynamic IP.

    Of course, when I tried to connect from my office, it gave me an error message, saying that it failed to connect to the VPN.

    Could my router be the culprit, since it has a built-in firewall? (The model is Netgear WGR614) If it is the culprit, what ports do I need to do the forwarding?

    I think the information that I've provided here is somehow limited, please let me know if you need anything else in detail. I will try my best to provide what I know.

    Thank you very much for your time reading this post and have a nice day!
     
  2. albybum

    albybum Penguin Rancher

    Messages:
    280
    Location:
    Elizabethton, TN
  3. h2020

    h2020 OSNN One Post Wonder

    Messages:
    9
    Hi,
    Thanks for your reply. However, if I have not mistaken, only paid members can see the articles in Expert Exchange.

    Do you think it will really work for me? The reason is because there are plenty of articles on setting up VPN available free on the net, I just want to make sure that I get a definite working solution.

    Thank you very much!
     
  4. fimchick

    fimchick OSNN Senior Addict

    Messages:
    276
    Location:
    Somewhere
    Wachu talkin' bout willis? Just scroll down :)
     
  5. h2020

    h2020 OSNN One Post Wonder

    Messages:
    9
    Ooops... I missed that :)

    I'll check that out!

    Thanks ya!
     
  6. h2020

    h2020 OSNN One Post Wonder

    Messages:
    9
    Hi everyone,
    First of all, thank you very much for the helpful link.

    I've followed the procedure there and I guess I'm done with the configurations on Computer 1.

    However, when I tried to establish a connection from my office, I get this serror message:

    ==============
    Connecting to xxx.no-ip.biz

    Error 800: Unable to establish the VPN connection. The VPN server may be unreachable, or security parameters may not be configured properly for this connection.

    ==============

    I've done the port forwarding and disabled my firewall.

    What could have caused the problem?

    Thank you!

    edit: by the way, I ping xxx.no-ip.biz and I managed to receive response.
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2006
  7. h2020

    h2020 OSNN One Post Wonder

    Messages:
    9
    Hi everyone,
    I've found some information here:
    http://www.howtonetworking.com/vpnissues/error800.htm

    Everything looks fine except for "Protocol 47 (GRE)", how do I unblock it? I have only port forwarding for 1723 and I know I certainly Protocol 47 is not Port 47.

    Thanks!
     
  8. Admiral Michael

    Admiral Michael Michaelsoft Systems CEO Folding Team

    Check your router for VPN passthrough, my linksys gives me these options:

    IPSec Passthrough: Enabled Disabled
    PPPoE Passthrough: Enabled Disabled
    PPTP Passthrough: Enabled Disabled

    You want to enable these.
     
  9. h2020

    h2020 OSNN One Post Wonder

    Messages:
    9
    Hi Michael,
    Thanks for your help.

    Unfortunately, I don't see these settings in my router, Netgear WGR614.

    Probably you can let me know the other ports that I should open other than
    PPTP - 1723
    IPSec - 500, 50-51

    Anyone can enlighten me?

    By the way, here's some information about my router, which I believe is able to support the VPN setup:
    http://kbserver.netgear.com/kb_web_files/n101222.asp

    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2006
  10. Admiral Michael

    Admiral Michael Michaelsoft Systems CEO Folding Team

    which version of the WGR614 do you have?

    I found this in the v1 manual:

     
  11. h2020

    h2020 OSNN One Post Wonder

    Messages:
    9
    Hi,
    I'm using the version 4 with firmware V5.0_07.

    I've tried turning off SPI but it didn't work.

    Anymore ideas?

    Thanks.
     
  12. h2020

    h2020 OSNN One Post Wonder

    Messages:
    9
    Hi everyone,
    I have a very silly question: Is it true that two networks which will be connected in VPN have to be in different IP range?

    I can see that my home network has the same IP range as my office network, which is 192.168.0.x

    I would assume I have to change either my home or office IP range to 192.168.1.x? If this is true, can anyone please give me a guide on doing that properly?

    Meanwhile, can anyone please teach me how to configure Zonealarm Free to accept incoming PPTP for my VPN?

    Thank you.
     
  13. h2020

    h2020 OSNN One Post Wonder

    Messages:
    9
    Hi guys,
    A little update here... finally managed to connect to the VPN!

    Now the problem is... I can't perform file sharing via VPN... anyone can help me?

    Thanks!