Has someone phoned me when I was online ?

Discussion in 'Windows Desktop Systems' started by Rami, Nov 22, 2002.

1. Rami

Rami Guest

Hello guys,

I wonder if there is a method that I can know if someone is phoning me while im connected to the internet. I use a dial up modem.

Do I need a special hardware (( A special modem )) ?
    Or do I need a special telephone service (( like call waiting )) ?
    Or do I need a special software that does that ?

Or do I need ALL the previous items ?

this is like a multiple choice question :D

Note: I'm very new at internet stuff.

Please help me :(

2. Hipster Doofus

Hipster Doofus Good grief Charlie Brown

Well you don't need call waiting. If that is on & someone calls you loose the connection to the web.

3. Rami

Rami Guest

Yeah but how can I know that someone is actually calling me right now ?
    because when I'm online, the line is busy>

4. Zedric

Zedric NTFS Guru Folding Team

You can't unless your phone company has this service to offer. At least not as far as I know.

5. 2z

2z OSNN Gamer

Internet Alert IA510

Most Internet users share a single telephone line for all Internet and telephone activities. During Internet sessions, incoming calls are missed. Internet Alertâ„¢ is the cost-effective way to create a virtual second line.

Using Call Waiting telephone service, Internet Alertâ„¢ identifies the presence of an incoming call and gives the user the option to take the second call or carry on surfing.

http://www.otherlandtoys.co.uk/alert510.htm

:cool:

6. Khayman

Khayman I'm sorry Hal... Political User Folding Team

I have seen software to do this but it does depend on some services you phone company offers, as Zedric says, can't remember what though

7. scriptasylum

scriptasylum Moderator