Do we have Lawyer in the house??

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by OTE, Jun 12, 2002.

1. OTE

OTE Guest

I recently brought Die Hard Nakatomi Plaza, but it doesnt work on my computer although the hard ware specification of my machine is nearly double that of what is required.

The shop i brought it from does not do refunds because of copying of software. I have contacted seirra twice and we have been unble to fix the problem. What is my legal stance on the matter and what are my rights

2. i'm not a lawyer but i guess now u know that b4 u buy something u ask them about their return policy

3. silent_bob

silent_bob Guest

i guess it depends which country ur in as to wot the laws / rules are.

4. Taurus

Taurus hardware monkey

pretty much screwed unless you want to let us have a crack at the problem. }:>

5. OTE

OTE Guest

i was afraid of that. BTW im from UK, if that helps.

Here is the Windows XP requirements for DH:N Plaza:

Processor equivalent to Pentium 400
    128 MB RAM
    DX8 compatible 16Mb g/crad
    SVGA
    High colour 16bit +
    4x CD ROM
    MS mouse + keyboard
    860Mb free HD space
    DX8 compatible soundcard

My system (WinXP + latest updates, SP 1 beta not installed):

AMD Athlon 1.4
    256Mb DDR RAM
    Radeon 8500 64MbDDR retail - latest official drivers (6071)
    Upto 32bit colour
    52xCD ROM (LG)
    Keyboard + Mouse
    40GB Maxtor bout 40% full
    Creative PCI 128

6. DragonHeart

DragonHeart OSNN Addict

;-0

Your perfectly in your legal right in the uk to return goods, no matter what they are if they are not fit for the purpose they are intened - ITS LAW. If the game states the requirements and you exceed them and still doesnt work thats not your fault. If the shop still give you hassle after that then i suggest reporting them to the office of fair trading and trading standards.

7. OTE

OTE Guest