BF2142 crashes my system.

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by Sinster, Feb 27, 2007.

  1. Sinster

    Sinster Moderator

    Messages:
    520
    Location:
    M*ssholechusetts
    I keep getting a BF2142 memory error and then after I click on close "BF2142.EXE has Stop working" I BSOD.

    Log Name: Application
    Source: Application Error
    Date: 2/25/2007 12:31:58 AM
    Event ID: 1000
    Task Category: (100)
    Level: Error
    Keywords: Classic
    User: N/A
    Computer:
    Description:
    Faulting application BF2142.exe, version 0.0.0.0, time stamp 0x45c711f6, faulting module MEMORY.DLL, version 0.0.0.0, time stamp 0x45c7104d, exception code 0xc0000005, fault offset 0x00001ddc, process id 0xf18, application start time 0x01c75893f382545a.


    Error 2/25/2007 12:32:01 AM 0 None <--- I have two of these right after each instances of bf2142.exe crashes. They are errors but they are blank.


    Log Name: System
    Source: EventLog
    Date: 2/25/2007 12:34:59 AM
    Event ID: 6008
    Task Category: None
    Level: Error
    Keywords: Classic
    User: N/A
    Computer:
    Description:
    The previous system shutdown at 12:32:07 AM on 2/25/2007 was unexpected.
     
  2. GEN3RIC

    GEN3RIC Moderator Folding Team

    Messages:
    634
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN
    Sorry I have no answer - but I am curious to know how it runs on your setup. I am about to pull the trigger on an E6600 + 4GB DDR800 + 8800GTS 640MB and if it actually plays smoothly on yours I am sure it will be OK on mine. This question is Vista-specific.
     
  3. lancer

    lancer There is no answer! Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    3,093
    Location:
    FL, USA
    Sinster, i believe bf2142 has an issue with the 8800 cards, you may have to install a specific driver for the game to run, look on ea's support website.

    also it could be an issue with you running vista 64bit, i don't really use vista, but is there an option to force compatibility with xp? in the properties of the .exe?
     
  4. Sinster

    Sinster Moderator

    Messages:
    520
    Location:
    M*ssholechusetts

    I'm running it at 1680 x 1050 everything on high. It runs pretty smooth but my X-Fi is holding me back and during some point my FPS stays at 80+ but stutters on my sound.
     
  5. GEN3RIC

    GEN3RIC Moderator Folding Team

    Messages:
    634
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN
    I dont understand why they removed the HAL for hardware sound.. that is definitely holding ya back there. I ask because I am trying to build a Vista x64 / 8800GTS / 4GBDDR800 pc by Mar 24th for a BF2142 LAN party and Id like to be competitive .. if not I will dual boot XP as a precaution. Let us know in the thread if you ever get this resolved!
     
  6. Sinster

    Sinster Moderator

    Messages:
    520
    Location:
    M*ssholechusetts
    I will let you know when Creative releases non beta drivers for Vista.. Rumor is March 8/9.
     
  7. American Zombie

    American Zombie Moderator Staff Member Political User

    Messages:
    2,931
    Location:
    Seattle
    Should not matter with the X-Fi card and games like BF2142 or other recent games as they use OpenAL not DirectSound or DirectSound3D. Only older games should be affected by the HAL removal.
    Source
     
  8. Sinster

    Sinster Moderator

    Messages:
    520
    Location:
    M*ssholechusetts
    The drivers just sucks for me for my X-Fi.. I get constant snap cracking and popping in Vista... I own 2 X-Fi and both have been installed on a NF4 board in XP and not once have I experienced the SCP that is notorious with CL.
     
  9. GEN3RIC

    GEN3RIC Moderator Folding Team

    Messages:
    634
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN
    thanks!

    Would I experience any audio issues with an ASUS P5b-Deluxe with onboard High Definition audio chipset?

    Specifically:
    ADIĀ® AD1988B 8-channel High Definition Audio CODEC
    - Support Jack-Sensing, Enumeration, Multi-streaming and Jack-Retasking
    - Coaxial / Optical S/PDIF out ports at back I/O
    - ASUS Noise Filter
    - ASUS Array Mic
     
  10. Bowen

    Bowen OSNN One Post Wonder

    Messages:
    1
    Sinister...I had the same problem you're having. I solved it by doing the following.

    First, you'll need to grab and install Visual Studio C++ Express from Microsoft.

    It's free so don't worry.
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/vstudio/express/visualc/default.aspx
    Once installed, you'll need to update it. also the game make sure u have lastest

    patch installed

    Backup the bf2.exe file. Just in case.
    Start ->Visual C++ 2005 Express Edition ->Visual Studio Tools ->Visual Studio

    2005 Command Prompt
    Navigate to your battlefield 2 directory.
    If you don't know how to navigate in DOS, follow this:
    "cd c:\Program Files\" ENTER ***c:\Program Files (x86)\ ENTER in vista 64***
    then usually it's "cd EA GAMES" ENTER
    "cd Battlefield 2" ENTER

    NOW WRITE THIS

    editbin.exe /LARGEADDRESSAWARE BF2.exe hit ENTER. Should come up with a

    Microsoft copyright or trademark thingy. This means success.
    write exit and hit ENTER
    RDY TO ROCK!!

    This is where I found the info: http://www.forumplanet.com/planetbattlefield/topic.asp?fid=13392&tid=2038426

    I've personally tried on both BF2 and BF2142 and it works great! Since I've done this about a week ago, it's not stopped on me even once, so I know for sure it works on both games. From what this guy says, it should work on any game and I believe him since it worked on these two!