ATI All in Wonder 9700 Pro - sound problems (can someone Help?)

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Shade2074, Feb 18, 2003.

  1. Shade2074

    Shade2074 OSNN Addict

    Messages:
    83
    I just recieved my new computer today, Basically this is my problem, when I watch TV on the computer through the ATI All In Wonder 9700 pro, and I pause the TV, I will get one of two errors:

    1)The video will pause and the autio will keep going, then when i unpause the video will continue where it left off but the autio will still be going as if i had never paused. then when i play back, there is no sound in the recorded file.

    2) or the second problem I get (after messing with the windows autio settings) i will get an echo, then when i hit pause the sound will sound like normal but continue (just like in example one). thwn when i unpause i will hear both the current sound, and the recorded sound. When I play the file back it sounds normal.

    I have the video card i stated above and i am using the creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 platnum. I followed the instructions and i have pluged the sound out from the video card to the line in on the sounds card. I feel like this should be a simple fix, but the answer is aluding me. Can anyone help me out?

    Thank you for your time, and sorry if it sounds a bit confusing, i explained the problem as best i could.
     
  2. Jz1397-5

    Jz1397-5 XP Bad Ass

    Messages:
    1,278
    Location:
    Philadelphia PA
    is your sound card next to your 9700 AIW? if so please move it down. also make sure you have the latest drivers from ATI with the control panel, and all updated apps. sometimes the ones of the CD have bugs that are fixed by later updates.
     
  3. Sazar

    Sazar F@H - Is it in you? Staff Member Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    14,905
    Location:
    Between Austin and Tampa
    I think he means move it to a different pci slot :)

    creative cards are known to cause a few problems with systems in terms of hardware :)
     
  4. Shade2074

    Shade2074 OSNN Addict

    Messages:
    83
    There is one slot open between the two, I'll try to downlaod the latest software and see if that works. It's late now thoush so I'll give it a shot tomorrow. Hopefully there will be something up that fixes this.
    thank you for the replys. night for now :)
     
  5. Sazar

    Sazar F@H - Is it in you? Staff Member Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    14,905
    Location:
    Between Austin and Tampa
    k... basically what is being suggested is possible IRQ quirks between your sound and video card...

    one way to address this is to move your sound card to another pci slot.. perhaps switch it with another device... ie switch the modem and sound cards... or something like that :)