xp pro

randmdavis

OSNN Junior Addict
Joined
4 Mar 2004
Messages
36
when loading legit system i can't get further than "setup is starting windows". board is a via 478 1.6 processor. tried different hard drives, using bios defaults and different dvd roms. any ideas???
 
Last edited by a moderator:

gonaads

Beware the G-Man
Political Access
Joined
31 Mar 2002
Messages
18,474
A bad disk, not enough RAM, Video Card problem, connection on HDD or DVD Drive loose?
 

LeeJend

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
25 Jan 2003
Messages
5,291
Lack of adequate drivers. Make sure the BIOS is set for defaulk settings. Advanced settings may require drivers be installed that are not there during initial windows install.
 

randmdavis

OSNN Junior Addict
Joined
4 Mar 2004
Messages
36
tried all the above guys, tried new hard drives, dvd drives, 1gb of ram-sometimes it says that a file is corrupt, next time it will go on thru to setup is syarting windows but thats it. also using fail safe defaults in bios.
 

roirraW "edor" ehT

Builder/Installer
Joined
5 May 2008
Messages
529
Have you tried different drives to burn the install disc on? Have you tried burning at a slower speed (16x for CD, 4x for DVD)? Is it in the realm of possibility that you try an ISO image of your install disc in a virtual computer such as the free VirtualBox and see if it fails there too?
 

gonaads

Beware the G-Man
Political Access
Joined
31 Mar 2002
Messages
18,474
The media (CD disk) could be bad or the CD/DVD drive is dirty and is not reading it correctly. I use to have problems like this a long time ago doing Windows OS installs/upgrades. Get a CD/DVD cleaner disk and clean the drive then retry. I would sometimes go through 4 or 5 tries before it did the entire install to the end and the final boot up. Also, pull out everything non-essential and just have the HDD, CD/DVD drive and Video card connected No sound card no extra USB card no nothing else. Then retry the install. Also if the MoBo has built in video go into the BIOS enable it and yank out your Video card then retry install. See if it works.
 

gonaads

Beware the G-Man
Political Access
Joined
31 Mar 2002
Messages
18,474
I also remember that if you had a SoundBlaster sound card installed in the first PCI slot it would conflict with the video card. I remember that you were to place the sound card in the second PCI slot to fix this. Now my memory is fuzzy on the details but ya never know.
 

Tweakfiend

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
6 Jan 2004
Messages
340
The media (CD disk) could be bad or the CD/DVD drive is dirty and is not reading it correctly. I use to have problems like this a long time ago doing Windows OS installs/upgrades. Get a CD/DVD cleaner disk and clean the drive then retry. I would sometimes go through 4 or 5 tries before it did the entire install to the end and the final boot up. Also, pull out everything non-essential and just have the HDD, CD/DVD drive and Video card connected No sound card no extra USB card no nothing else. Then retry the install. Also if the MoBo has built in video go into the BIOS enable it and yank out your Video card then retry install. See if it works.

Liquid disc cleaner often does not remove scratch marks on discs, paste is a good alternative, if you have disc problems
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Also Hi EP and people. I found this place again while looking through a oooollllllldddd backup. I have filled over 10TB and was looking at my collection of antiques. Any bids on the 500Mhz Win 95 fix?
Any of the SP crew still out there?
Xie wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Impressed you have kept this alive this long EP! So many sites have come and gone. :(

Just did some crude math and I apparently joined almost 18yrs ago, how is that possible???
hello peeps... is been some time since i last came here.
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.

Forum statistics

Threads
62,013
Messages
673,480
Members
5,607
Latest member
endryshall