wtf.. drives gone?

mooo

thecyberninja
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
886
I was playing UT i swear not 3days ago, and now both my cd/dvd drives are gone. In device manager they have the "!" in front of it but i did nothing in the past few days when i last used them. I can't reinstall because the drive is not reconizable.. this is some messed up stuff

any idea on what i can do?

wow my bro's dropped last week too, only one that works is his external drive. very very odd.

anyone else have the problem?
 

RazerBack

The First Rebirth
Joined
Jan 23, 2003
Messages
159
I had a problem where my DVD/CD drives started acting weird. Loading slow, jittery playback on DVD. I notice that the drives were using PIO mode, not DMA like they used to. Both drives are on the Secondary IDE Channel. To fix it I tried uninstalling the Secondary IDE Channel, rebooted. Detected everything and back to normal.
 

Attachments

mooo

thecyberninja
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
886
yea i just tried to uninstall and when i rebooted they were back..
:( but not working still
 

mooo

thecyberninja
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
886
i just took screenshot of error it says

"Windows cannot start this hardware device because its configuration information (in the registry) is incomplete or damaged. (Code 19)

Click Troubleshoot to start the troubleshooter for this device."

not sure on what this means any idea on how to fix this?

www.thecyberninja.com/error.jpg
 

mooo

thecyberninja
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
886
woops to many things on main dir :p let me fix that thanks for telling me.. i think its fixed
 

Xie

- geek -
Joined
Sep 29, 2003
Messages
5,274
That is odd ... perhaps they are both dead? Only problem w/ that is how did they die would almost have to point at a dieing PSU. :/
 

mooo

thecyberninja
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
886
well i can open them and all, and bro has the same problem.. friend told me to uninstall.. unplug and reboot, then plug back in. going to try it.

edit:: nope it didn't work :( any other ideas?
 

Xie

- geek -
Joined
Sep 29, 2003
Messages
5,274
Well its odd that you would both have the same issue. That makes me wonder about possible virus of some sort or bad outlet? Do the 2 of you share network/power outlet?
 

mooo

thecyberninja
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
886
nope, we share nothing, it happened to a girl i know in NY also. (posted about it like last week but now i know first hand on what is happeneing :-( ) friend speculated a virus also but i don't think bro has downloaded anything that i have ( i have only installed new itunes, ipod update, and watched a video i downloading so that might be it.) but yea i am lost.
 

toretto

Mentally Absent
Joined
Feb 8, 2004
Messages
226
i would try replacing the ide ribbon i have had those go out before, so no apparent reason. make sure they are 80wire ones. i would then let the system start up without the drives hooked up, reboot with them hooked up. let windows try and fix it itself.
 

gonaads

Beware the G-Man
Political User
Joined
Mar 31, 2002
Messages
18,474
Take the TDK drive out and put it into another computer and see if it reads and works. Not your brother's :p since his went belly up also. But I have mine set to UDMA also.

I have the 16/10/40x model. I did a firmware upgrade to it a while back. But you need to make it work first.

One question, how long were you playing UT? Was it an all-nighter? :D Ya could have just fried it.
 

gonaads

Beware the G-Man
Political User
Joined
Mar 31, 2002
Messages
18,474
By any chance did your computer crash? Did you do any Windows updates? Did ya do any BIOS updates?
 

mooo

thecyberninja
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
886
na just played an assault lvl before work on thursday or friday (that was last time i used drive). And the only thing i can think of that has happened since this was on saturday-sunday someone seem'd to packet my connection because i culdn't ping anything without timing out. So i shutdown the computer and modem for a little while that, that was the last time till i realized they drives were messed up.

also in bios it reconizes the drives, and i can put in a bootable cd and it reconizes it also and boots from it. so its a windows only issure as far as i can tell now. is there a way i can check my registry?
 

mooo

thecyberninja
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
886
i am about to head out to work but that looks like it might be the problem fixer :p will know more when i get home tonight, thanks :)
 

toretto

Mentally Absent
Joined
Feb 8, 2004
Messages
226
you see, this is why i cracked my version of UT2K4 so that i dont have to put the damn cd in anymore.
 

mooo

thecyberninja
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
886
ha, but that still doesn't solve the issue of not having a cdburner or dvd burner does it?
 

toretto

Mentally Absent
Joined
Feb 8, 2004
Messages
226
no it doesnt, but it lets you still play the game.

you might check however, that your ide channels are still enabled in the bios.

click the link for the crack

File Removed
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy? :(
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey ep!

All good with me, applying for microsoft mvp right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by comming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier, mine is perriscalderon at gmail
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?

Forum statistics

Threads
61,978
Messages
673,285
Members
89,063
Latest member
rahulpandy