Wireless hook up to network

brocher

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
516
I have been thinking about internet use at work. Is there a device that i can connect to a network socket at work that would allow me to connect to the device wirelessly using my laptop to access the net. Some of the sockets are to far out of reach for easy access or its get a long cable. I can connect to the network for internet access using a cable and was wondering if this would be possible. Obviously i would have to connect it to my laptop first to configure it with a WEP security number.
 

Brad

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political User
Joined
Mar 24, 2002
Messages
2,280
First of all, use WPA, not WEP. Especially at work. WEP is very "hack-able". I did it in a controlled environment at work and it took about 10 minutes.

Secondly, contact your IT department if this is something that you can do. Many companies would have a policy against this.

Thirdly, if you get a regular linksys wireless router (such as the WRT-54G), it should work for your needs.
 

LeeJend

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
Jan 25, 2003
Messages
5,291
You make it sound like you connect at many different locations. If that is the case you need to look at whether a home wireless router signal will reach all the locations you need to reach, whether there is any euqipment at work it might interfere with, etc.

If there are only a few locations it's easier just to make a few extension cables and leave them plugged in, it's what I do.

PS What Brad said about the IT department if there is one. They get nasty about self help projects.
 

gh057

w3lc0m3 t0 7h3 r3al w0r1d
Joined
Aug 23, 2006
Messages
62
lol! this would be one hell of a story if this guy actually goes through with installing WiFi in his ooffice. :p if your going to install wireless and need to use it in multiple locations you can connect each router to one to make an extention of the main router . ie ( you have DSL/Calbe/Etc and you have a linksys wrt54g router connected to your DSL/Cable modem and then you would configure the router to use the other routers connected to the linksys as a AP ( access point) refer to your routers manual for it :lick: btw do use WPA as Brad suggested its not funny when some is dling and using your bandwith >.< pisses me off .
 

Brad

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political User
Joined
Mar 24, 2002
Messages
2,280
lol! this would be one hell of a story if this guy actually goes through with installing WiFi in his ooffice. :p if your going to install wireless and need to use it in multiple locations you can connect each router to one to make an extention of the main router . ie ( you have DSL/Calbe/Etc and you have a linksys wrt54g router connected to your DSL/Cable modem and then you would configure the router to use the other routers connected to the linksys as a AP ( access point) refer to your routers manual for it :lick: btw do use WPA as Brad suggested its not funny when some is dling and using your bandwith >.< pisses me off .
I'm not so worried about people stealing his bandwidth, I am worried about people sniffing his corporate network traffic.
 

fitz

Woah.. I'm still here?
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Apr 26, 2004
Messages
4,082
you could also look at setting up an entire seperate wireless network. Then setup a border VPN for the wireless clients to access the corporate network. It's more secure than WPA since you would need the VPN client on each wireless network to connect to the corporate network and the traffic to the corporate network is secured over IPSec VPN.

It's an extra step in the process of connecting.. you get a connection to the wireless signal as the first step, but then need to create the VPN tunnel into the corporate network.
 

Stevai

OSNN Junior Addict
Joined
Mar 21, 2006
Messages
31
First of all, use WPA, not WEP. Especially at work. WEP is very "hack-able". I did it in a controlled environment at work and it took about 10 minutes.

Secondly, contact your IT department if this is something that you can do. Many companies would have a policy against this.

Thirdly, if you get a regular linksys wireless router (such as the WRT-54G), it should work for your needs.
Brad,
Would you suggest WPA over WEP? I mean, WPA1 (not WPA2). Only because my Xbox360 wireless NIC doesn't support WEP (says it does tho, lies...). Also, I setup my wireless router to put the wireless connections in a VPN, should be good?

Sorry for debunking the thread =/
 

Brad

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political User
Joined
Mar 24, 2002
Messages
2,280
I would recommend using WPA1 and I will tell you why.

WEP and WPA1 do use the same cipher (RC4) to encrypt the data. However, the thing that makes WEP so vulnerable is that it broadcasts the first 40 characters of the key in plain text, making that very vulnerable to hacking.

A hacker, coupled with traffic that it has already captured from your PC that is encrypted, can utilize a brute force attack (essentially guessing and checking). If you are using a 64-bit key, that is only 24 bits that have to be guessed.

WPA1 does not broadcast that portion in plain text, making it a lot more secure.
 
Last edited:

gh057

w3lc0m3 t0 7h3 r3al w0r1d
Joined
Aug 23, 2006
Messages
62
I'm not so worried about people stealing his bandwidth, I am worried about people sniffing his corporate network traffic.
true sniffing corporate traffic would be a lot worse than stealing bandwith, oh n03s my social could be on that corporate ^_^
 

brocher

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
516
Firstly, i work offshore in UK, the nearest rig to us is over 3 miles away and it is connected to the same server through fibre optics, so hacking is not a problem unless they have a helluva signal. Secondly i work on 5 different rigs within a 6 mile radius of each other , my office is slightly different in that the network sockets are in different places on the walls.Is there not a unit that is available that i could plug in to the socket in the wall and then connect wirelessly with laptop.
 

Members online

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey ep!

All good with me, applying for microsoft mvp right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by comming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier, mine is perriscalderon at gmail
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...

Forum statistics

Threads
61,980
Messages
673,312
Members
89,034
Latest member
2mytru