Windows XP SP2 RC1/Tech Preview Released

L

Lee

Guest
#3
Think I jumped the gun, maybe, I think it could be a technical release, bitch me if I got it wrong, sorry to thos ethat may have downloaded 273 megs, downloading now myself so will find out, it was added today so that's why i posted it when I found out.
 

NetRyder

Tech Junkie
Joined
Apr 19, 2002
Messages
13,256
#4
This is basically Release Candidate 1. Although it is much more stable as compared to the betas, I would highly recommend not installing this on your primary machine.
There's still going to be RC2 before the final is released.
 
L

Lee

Guest
#5
Find it odd how it was released today though. There are two, 273 and 260.19 mgb(which i am downloading as we speak).

Both I found released on the 20/3/2004. I think i should have an early night as it is late...
 

pluto

OSNN Addict
Joined
Jan 31, 2004
Messages
202
#7
Lee said:
Find it odd how it was released today though. There are two, 273 and 260.19 mgb(which i am downloading as we speak).

Both I found released on the 20/3/2004. I think i should have an early night as it is late...
The 260MB file according to Microsoft is the German version and the 273MB is the English version.
 
L

Lee

Guest
#11
build is btw 2, v .2096
Thanks for not throwing mud at me, as I get very confused when I haven't slept for a few days.
 

sullysnet

OSNN Junior Addict
Joined
Sep 25, 2002
Messages
45
#14
I see a serious bug in IE, when you try to download or launch a file (exm. download a zip file from a page or .exe) the download never finishes. It hangs at 99%. I removed the SP2 and everything was fine. Weird I never seem to have issues with prelease of anything but the SP2 has been crazy for me. First time my printspooling would lockup or hang and now that is fine and IE has issues LOL

Does anyone seen this issue I can't believe it is just me on this one.

thanks
 

Doom

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
Jul 14, 2002
Messages
266
#15
Looks like the new firewall should be much better than the old one. Hopefully we wont need another one.
 

NetRyder

Tech Junkie
Joined
Apr 19, 2002
Messages
13,256
#16
I need a simple answer from someone who has RC1 installed. Does Windows Firewall prompt you when an application tries to make an outbound connection to the internet? I've been finding way too many conflicting answers on this subject, and I want to know from someone who actually has it installed.
Thanks
 

rushm001

In the beginning......
Political User
Joined
Sep 21, 2002
Messages
3,484
#17
Sorry I don't use windows built in one. It keeps telling me to keep my system secure I should use automatic updates though (I prefer to do them myself!) which annoys me a bit!
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey ep!

All good with me, applying for microsoft mvp right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by comming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier, mine is perriscalderon at gmail
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...

Forum statistics

Threads
62,030
Messages
673,544
Members
89,039
Latest member
filamnapa