Windows Vista Build 5744.16384 Released

NetRyder

Tech Junkie
Joined
Apr 19, 2002
Messages
13,256
#2
Last build released to us before RTM, eh? :)
Will start the download when I get back home tonight.
 

Mecham

Vista bug finder
Joined
Aug 9, 2006
Messages
131
#3
Holly cr**...? I don't know what Microsoft have done to this build but, it installed in 30 with all the other cr** and loading desktop for the first time total time was around 35 minutes. It installed a lot faster than previous builds which I was impressed with.

Only one thing, apart from the fact it runs smoother than RC1 I cannot seam to find what has been changed. I could be to do with the fact it's 02:00 and my eyes are not functioning correctly due to being tired...:sleeping: :sleeping: :sleeping:
 

kop48

OSNN Addict
Joined
Jun 11, 2006
Messages
209
#4
lol glad to see it's running smoothly - I can't wait to get my paws on it! :D
 

Brad

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political User
Joined
Mar 24, 2002
Messages
2,280
#6
Anyone know if I can install over RC1 with this?
 

ElementalDragon

The One and Only
Joined
Aug 8, 2002
Messages
3,159
#7
Mecham: you think that's fast.... you shoulda seen the one version of Longhorn i was able to get my grubby little mits on. i'd swear it was up and running in maybe 15 minutes at most, from restart prior to starting install, to booting.

the question i'm asking myself is..... do i REALLY wanna download ANOTHER version of vista? i just downloaded build 5728 last week......
 

Brad

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political User
Joined
Mar 24, 2002
Messages
2,280
#8
why not?

Installing as an upgrade now....let's see how it goes
 
Last edited:

Electronic Punk

willalwaysbewithyou
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Dec 2, 2001
Messages
18,625
#11
Using 20% of 2gigs of Ram on this laptop, not sure how much this is down, but I like it :)
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2004
Messages
7,027
#13
:D I cant wait till monday when I can fire this up on my core 2 duo E6700 :)

Borrowed a 1gb flash drive to see what it does with that supercache/fetch thing :)
 

kop48

OSNN Addict
Joined
Jun 11, 2006
Messages
209
#14
Man, I installed this and it decided about half-way through the first session that the network would stop working. I rebooted, and the same story - the network card refused to get an IP. Anyone else come across this?
 

GEN3RIC

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
Apr 4, 2005
Messages
634
#15
:D I cant wait till monday when I can fire this up on my core 2 duo E6700 :)

Borrowed a 1gb flash drive to see what it does with that supercache/fetch thing :)
You mean they allow you to use that through USB? I thought that was a hybrid-HDD function only. Most usb flash drives arent even that fast, especially through USB.
 

kop48

OSNN Addict
Joined
Jun 11, 2006
Messages
209
#16
Hmmm... that network issue worked itself out, but I've found a really annoying bug. If you try to do any kind of search from the start menu, it goes 'Cannot find the program for the specified extension' or something along those lines. That's a pretty big bug to be in the pre-RTM build... :-/
 

ElementalDragon

The One and Only
Joined
Aug 8, 2002
Messages
3,159
#18
well.... the hybrid HDD crap i think was for the most part for extremely fast booting. the pen drive stuff seems to be mostly for improved performance in Vista.
 

kop48

OSNN Addict
Joined
Jun 11, 2006
Messages
209
#19
is that in this build only? i never had any issues with the search there.
I haven't had a chance to run any other builds. I think I'm just going to wait till it goes RTM. Hopefully all the UI bugs will be fixed at least. In order to try to duplicate the problem I had:
* Do a search on your start menu for something you know won't work. Then click search elsewhere.
* You can then try to click the search on the right and you should get the same error message.
 

Tweakfiend

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
340
#20
Hmmm... that network issue worked itself out, but I've found a really annoying bug. If you try to do any kind of search from the start menu, it goes 'Cannot find the program for the specified extension' or something along those lines. That's a pretty big bug to be in the pre-RTM build... :-/
Same problem with Netgear network card....should not have to remove, reinstall software and reintroduce...is that what you did ?
Main connection works fine with router/modem ( newish model )
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...
Xie
What a long strange trip it's been. =)

Forum statistics

Threads
61,980
Messages
673,326
Members
89,023
Latest member
MiaTHill