Windows Virtual Memory set too low?

Heeter

Overclocked Like A Mother
Joined
8 Jul 2002
Messages
2,732
Hi Guys,

I get this error when I play my new game "Far Cry". I think that I have enough specs hardware wise to play this game. ('Puter specs listed below) I do keep getting errors/freezes while playing. How can I fix this Virt.Mem. problem? It is set at system manged pagefile (523Megs listed in the E: partition. I have a C:\, D:\, E:\ partitioned Harddrive) under my MyComputer->Properties->Advanced tab.

Thanks in advance

Heeter
 

Xie

- geek -
Joined
29 Sep 2003
Messages
5,274
Well if you have it set to system managed it should be fine as long as the partition has enough space for your pagefile to expand (probably enough room for it to be 1.5 your RAM is good). What are the errors though?
 

Heeter

Overclocked Like A Mother
Joined
8 Jul 2002
Messages
2,732
They are game errors, mostly. Although, I haven't had one since I changed my "system managed" to Custom and put in 767Megs. I couldn't read the errors as it came up too fast to read, then it just freezes. Will continue at Custom pagefile settings to see if it was the problem.

I have searched the ubisoft site for any patches, doesn't seem to be any that will resolve my situation with the game itself.

Thanks Xie.

Heeter
 

ming

OSNN Advanced
Joined
17 Jun 2003
Messages
4,252
On my desktops, Windows automatically allocates 768MB of VM, even though I have 768MB RAM in one, and only 512MB in the other.
On my laptop, it's set the VM to 512MB even though I only have 256MB RAM.
I've always been told to allocate 1.5x the amount of RAM for the VM you have in your machine.
 

LeeJend

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
25 Jan 2003
Messages
5,291
Heeter you may want to up the RAM to 768MB. I was running 512 and BFV was very ornery. Added a 3rd stick and now it plays fine.

Other possibility is your FSB is pushed too hard. If I go over 188 FSB my games start crashing after a while. Roll it back to 190 and see if that helps.
 

Heeter

Overclocked Like A Mother
Joined
8 Jul 2002
Messages
2,732
Thanks for the ideas, Leejend.

I have moved it back to "System Managed" from "custom", and it has been running flawless since. I don't know why it was putting up a fight before this. Oh well.

BTW, the graphics/sounds are astounding on this game. So far, well worth the $60 that I paid.

Heeter
 

melon

MS-DOS 2.0
Political Access
Joined
13 Feb 2002
Messages
854
I have a large enough hard drive that I just set it to "custom managed" and put it at the maximum: 4096 MB (both the initial and maximum settings). Windows XP won't let you go any bigger than that, and I haven't had any issues with virtual memory since.

Melon
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas!
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy?
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey EP! All good with me, applying for Microsoft MVP right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by coming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier!
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
EP, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there!

Forum statistics

Threads
61,997
Messages
673,393
Members
5,585
Latest member
LucyHennessy