Win XP Home Networking

dreamworks

--== babyface ==--
Joined
Jan 19, 2003
Messages
355
#1
Hi guys ..

I have a LAN which comprises of 1 Windows 2K Server, 5 Windows XP Home PCs, and 2 Windows 98 SE PCs. On the server machine, DHCP is enabled and a class C IP address is being used. The problem came when I realize all the Windows XP Home PCs are using the same IP (192.168.0.34) although it is configured to obtain automatically from the DHCP server. The 2 Windows 98 machines run fine and excellent. Why is this so? Can anyone advise please?

Thanks ..
 

muzikool

Act your wage.
Political User
Joined
Dec 27, 2001
Messages
7,626
#2
This thread needs to be in Networking...

I assume that you are using a router since your IP begins with 192. If that's the case, I would simply assign each system a static IP that falls in the router's range of valid IPs. That would be the most effective way to manage your network in my opinion.
 

dreamworks

--== babyface ==--
Joined
Jan 19, 2003
Messages
355
#3
Thanks .. but the unfortunate answer is that because I am using the same type of motherboard which is Asus build, apparently all the network card which is incidently built in has the same MAC address. And so thats the reason why the DHCP server assumes that it is the same PC, when in fact it is not, and I was thinking it was some networking problem with Win XP Home all this while!! : (

Just a case of pure bad luck I guess ..? : )
 

gonaads

Beware the G-Man
Political User
Joined
Mar 31, 2002
Messages
18,474
#4
I am moving this thread to "Networking". You should get more responses there.

*thread has been moved*

gonaads
 
P

PseudoKiller

Guest
#5
I have never heard of the same MAC on any machine afaik all MAC's are unique. hmmm.
 

dreamworks

--== babyface ==--
Joined
Jan 19, 2003
Messages
355
#7
neither could i believe it .. but it seems so when I checked all the 5 units of PCs running Win XP Home as they were bought in the same batch. Its just the case whereby the mainboard comes bundled with everything in it, for an office use, and so thats the case.
 

Admiral Michael

Michaelsoft Systems CEO
Joined
Feb 19, 2003
Messages
3,123
#8
still they should have diferent MAC addresses, I kno on my laptop I can change my MAC address, check in the NIC's hardware properties.
 

blinden

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
Aug 4, 2002
Messages
268
#9
yeah, check the configs on them, don't assume they are the same MAC, because i'm sure they aren't, if they are, you have a case against ASUS for some motherboard replacements because they can't do that.

I assume you are using a switch, not a router, as it's on the hardware layer, not the IP layer which your problem is occuring?
 

Geffy

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
Mar 18, 2002
Messages
7,805
#10
the main points of MACs are that they are unique to so I would go yelling at ASUS about that. I think that the DHCP leases are done on MAC addresses, and I am pretty sure that the ipv6 uses the mac address in some part of constucting the ipv6 address, so were you to implement that in the future with these machines you would also have trouble.
 

dreamworks

--== babyface ==--
Joined
Jan 19, 2003
Messages
355
#11
It is true. The MAC address is the same indeed which is causing all the machines to be using the same IP address. Anyway, thanks a lot guys. Just posting this so that it might be useful to anyone coming across this scenario and cracking their head for the whole day only to be taken down by the MAC issue. :) Cheers ..
 

Mubbers

Shoot!
Political User
Joined
Dec 28, 2001
Messages
1,087
#12
Interesting - I'm just attempting to set up my LAN via my wireless D-Link router/modem. WHich is why I'm reading this forum!!

Both machines have identical MAC addresses (according tothe router)

One's a sony laptop and the other an Advent ;)

Is this a router issue?
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey ep!

All good with me, applying for microsoft mvp right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by comming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier, mine is perriscalderon at gmail
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...

Forum statistics

Threads
62,011
Messages
673,481
Members
89,034
Latest member
nasty12